Glory

Glory
Glory
Over the last few days I have slowly been taking down the Christmas decorations. It’s always a sad task for me because I love the lights, the manger, the ornaments and all of the festive tchotchke’s scattered around the house.
When it came to taking down the adornment on the front door, I chose to keep it there. There it reads, GLORY. That’s not only a Christmas saying. That’s an all-year-round saying. This household is to give God the glory for all that He does for us.
The glory of God is the beauty of His spirit. It is not an aesthetic beauty or a material beauty, but it is the beauty that emanates from His character and what better way to walk into your home being reminded to glorify God!
What does that mean to give God glory? It means that I am trying not to trust in earthly things but rather things of God. Are we giving God the glory when things are going our way or do we give the glory to ourselves? This is the mistake that I can so easily make. I trust in the earthly things, earthly relationships and my own powers to prevail rather than the glory of God. But when these things fade and fail as they will inevitably do, I will despair. What I need to remember is that God’s glory is constant, and as I journey through my life I will see it manifest here and there, in people and in stories of love and heroism. I will see it in nature as I walk, and in new and old friendships.
In the end though, it all points back to HIM. The only way to God and HIS glory is through his son Jesus Christ. If we stay connected to the grandeur of God no glory will be lost to us. If you spent your 2012 year searching and faltering just remember that all of those good, holy and true things that have faded away in your life will be found again in Him; you’re Glory.

2 thoughts on “Glory

    • momofthree3 January 3, 2013 / 12:49 pm

      I am going to intently look at this today as I leave the house. I want to bring HIM glory and stick to my memory verse. I’ll let you know how I do….

      Like

Leave a Reply

