TRUSTING

I have joined the on-line Proverbs Bible Study group and have to say it’s one of the better studies I’ve done. I love Bible studies but this is the first time I am doing an on-line study and I a learning so much. I love the feed back and the committment of the people I’m meeting.

Today was my turn to write a devotion about Proverbs 3:5…Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding…NIV. As I was reading this passage I decided to look it up in a couple other versions. No matter how it’s written, it means the same thing; we need to trust God.

I really like the Amplified version, (usually I don’t like this version; it’s too wordy for me).

LEAN ON, TRUST IN, AND BE CONFIDENT IN THE LORD WITH ALL YOUR HEART AND MIND AND DO NOT RELY ON YOUR OWN INSIGHT OR UNDERSTANDING. Amplified Version

I had the opportunity to share a little bit of this scripture with a close relative that is not saved; thinks she believes in something 😦 Anyhow, she said that she didn’t understand why God made the Connecticut shooting happen. She has three young kids and the forth on the way. I had to think about my answer and say a quick “help me God” prayer and responded with this. I don’t believe God made that incident happen. He allowed it but we won’t know why until we are face to face with Him. I talked to her about Proverbs 3:5 and also about Isaiah 55:8-9; KJV For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. Basically, we have to trust. It’s such a small word with such a huge meaning!

That is something I really want to glean from this study; how to surrender and trust. I have to admit that I am not very good at this. I know God has called me to work part-time rather than full-time; not knowing how my bills will get paid, but I have to trust in the calling.

Have you ever had to be totally confident in what God was calling you to do? If so, I  would love to hear from you.

Thanks.

Beth

I have joined the on-line Proverbs Bible Study group and have to say it’s one of the better studies I’ve done. I love Bible studies but this is the first time I am doing an on-line study and I a learning so much. I love the feed back and the committment of the people I’m meeting.

Today was my turn to write a devotion about Proverbs 3:5…Trust in the Lord with all of your heart and lean not on your own understanding…NIV. As I was reading this passage I decided to look it up in a couple other versions. No matter how it’s written, it means the same thing; we need to trust God.

I really like the Amplified version, (usually I don’t like this version; it’s too wordy for me).

LEAN ON, TRUST IN, AND BE CONFIDENT IN THE LORD WITH ALL YOUR HEART AND MIND AND DO NOT RELY ON YOUR OWN INSIGHT OR UNDERSTANDING. Amplified Version

I had the opportunity to share a little bit of this scripture with a close relative that is not saved; thinks she believes in something 😦 Anyhow, she said that she didn’t understand why God made the Connecticut shooting happen. She has three young kids and the forth on the way. I had to think about my answer and say a quick “help me God” prayer and responded with this. I don’t believe God made that incident happen. He allowed it but we won’t know why until we are face to face with Him. I talked to her about Proverbs 3:5 and also about Isaiah 55:8-9; KJV For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. Basically, we have to trust. It’s such a small word with such a huge meaning!

That is something I really want to glean from this study; how to surrender and trust. I have to admit that I am not very good at this. I know God has called me to work part-time rather than full-time; not knowing how my bills will get paid, but I have to trust in the calling.

Have you ever had to be totally confident in what God was calling you to do? If so, I  would love to hear from you.

Thanks.

Beth

PS: May I add, this is the first time I was able to figure out how to insert an image. Yay

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

