Today after discouragement and tears over a pair of pants that wouldn’t fit because of my water retention, I chose to tackle something huge. Well, it was huge to me. I chose to install a new shower hose and nozzle. It broke yesterday morning. I went to Home Depot with the broken pieces, found the section that I needed, read all of the nozzle packages, compared the sizes to what I was holding in my hand and made the selection. I paid for it and hurried home to install it. Now, those of you who have been following my story know that I am incredibly swollen and am finding it very difficult in even getting up and down the stairs in my house so taking on this kind of challenge was probably crazy, but that’s me at times. When I’m down and out, I try something new. I brought the step-ladder up the stairs, step by step in very slow motion, put it in the tub, got my wrench and uninstalled the old yucky shower hose. I sat on the toilet, with the lid down may I add, read all of the instructions, carefully looked at the diagram and got to work. I put the white sealant tape on the threads, put the little flat washer inside of the spout, connected the hose to the thingies, and pulled the ladder out of the tub. Here was the moment of truth. Did I do it right? Will it work? I slowly turned on the water and tada!!! It worked! I got goosebumGE DIGITAL CAMERAps.GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Some people wouldn’t think this was such a big thing, but I did. It was such a lift to my spirit. I needed some sort of accomplishment for my belt today. After I cleaned up the mess and looked at the finished product, I started thinking; this is what God wants from me. He wants to take me from start to finish, and make me brand spanking new. As I’ve been reading in the book of Proverbs about obedience I read the following quote from John MacArthur:
Loving the LORD is not an emotional goosebump; it is a commitment to selfless obedience.
I ask myself, am I staying committed to my obedience? Am I as determined to follow in His footsteps as I was in getting that shower hooked up? All I have to do is trust God fully, obey Him implicitly, and follow His instructions faithfully. I know that the course of daily events can disrupt this faithful obedience but I also know that when things are just not right with God and I start to wander aimlessly and I will most certainly wander right into turmoil.
Oh Jehovah-Shalom, my God of peace, remind me when I am not following your instructions to gently put me back on track.
2 Corinthians 1:3-4
Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort; who comforts us in all our tribulations…

Leave a Reply

