The Sweater

Let me share with you about a garment named sweater. To most, it is just kind of a thing that hangs on the back of my writing chair that has many missing threads. To me, it’s a sweater that brings me comfort and warm fuzzies.GE DIGITAL CAMERA

My dad was a journalist, writer, and the Director of Public Information at Con-Edison in New York City. Often he would bring his work home. When returning home from church and after our big Sunday family dinner, dad would turn the dining room table into his writing center. On one side of the table he would have his yellow note-book and his black typewriter and The New York Times.  On the other side of the table, he would have his coffee, his ash tray and several pencils. On the back of his chair he would have his sweater. I knew that when he put on that sweater, he was gettin’ serious about his writing.

park of me didn’t like Sunday afternoon’s because when he would sit and work and write it meant less time with me; but the other part of me admired him for what he was doing to provide for my mother, brothers and I.  He was such a hard-working father. He provided the best of care for us.  He was devoted to his job and was very proficient.

When my dad passed away November 13, 2003, I asked my mom if I could have the sweater. She said to me, “Are you serious? That thing is falling apart.” I still wanted it and it was given to me. For years it hung in my closet only to be worn maybe twice a year when I was chilly in the house.

It now sits on the back of my writing chair and when the fingers start to hit the keyboard, it more importantly gets wrapped around my shoulders. I hug it when I’m at a loss for words, (which doesn’t happen too often) or when I’m contemplating the spelling of a word, (which happens way too often). I love this sweater. It reminds me of what a good father he was. It reminds me to never give up and how proud I was of him. It also reminds me that I have a Father in Heaven who loves me even more than my earthly father ever did. That’s a whole lot of lovin’.

Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD  your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you  with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with  loud singing.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Sweater

  1. Helen Tisdale January 9, 2013 / 6:55 pm

    Oh Beth! I just love your writing! Today was just beautiful about your dad! What a heritage you have! The gift was certainly passed on down to you! I am loving your blog!

    Like

  2. Linda January 9, 2013 / 8:49 pm

    No wonder you have the gift of writing. . .your genes from your daddy. . . anointed by God! You are so neat!!

    Like

  3. Beth Farley January 10, 2013 / 6:56 am

    Thanks Linda, I just am in my element; sharing God’s love and spending more quality time with Him. I loved my dad and he was a wonderful provider.

    Like

Leave a Reply

