A Lesson on Patience

 

I really learned something about patience today. I went with a co-worker over to the Independent Living Center here In Kansas City to do a demonstration on how to download books for free from the library onto their E-readers.  I you are not sure what an E-Reader is, it’s an I-Pad, Nook, Kindle, Kindle Fire, MP3, Tablet, etc. With your library card, you have access to free books and although it’s a really neat perk of owning a card, it can be a difficult task at first.

So, today we went to the Independent living center and we sat for over two hours with a hand full of women who were in their 80’s and 90’s. They sat there and listened to everything we were saying, touched all the buttons and when the system would crash or the internet would go down, they would just make jokes and laugh about it.

I for one was getting so frustrated. My co-worker and I couldn’t figure out this one stubborn Kindle Fire. It would not read the owners library card number, then it would not take her Amazon Account, then it would download the wrong book, then we couldn’t increase the font size, then we couldn’t find the books that she was interested in reading. She kept saying with a light hearted laugh, “It’s just easier for me to go check out the book at the library,” But she would hang in there and continue to take notes. And…this was during her nap time, as she mentioned a couple of times.

Their little arthritic fingers would press the keys, swoosh the screen from left to right and tap away at the screen, with excitement and determination. They waited their turn to ask questions and couldn’t thank us enough for coming out and spending the time with them, even though we didn’t have all of the answers and it took twice the time.

Hum, where’s my patience? I wanted to throw in the towel. I wanted to just call our IT Dept. and ask them to take over. I just wanted to, okay, SCREAM!!! Oh great, I know there is a scripture that is very convicting in Proverbs and guess who is studying the book of Proverbs? Yup, I am.

Proverbs 15:18
A hot-tempered man stirs up dissension, but a patient man calms a quarrel. (NIV)

I was ready for a fight. I was being hot-tempered (inside) and I could easily have stirred up dissension. I didn’t but I could have. I thank all of my friends at the Center because although they don’t know this, they really taught me a lesson today. Patience dear Beth, Patience.

By the way…I did figure how to download the games and we did play a game or two of Solitaire!

Leave a Reply

