Wormwood Thoughts

 

 

For several years now I have gravitated towards a more holistic approach of healing. I am a firm believer in rubbing some lavender onto your feet at night to help you get a good night sleep rather than taking a sleeping pill. I like to apply eucalyptus to my feet and chest at night to help me breathe when I am struggling with sinus problems and during cold and flu season I always double up on my vitamin C, Zinc and Echinacea.  When I get a headache, before opening up the Tylenol, I rub a little peppermint oil on my temples and deep breathe. I love a hot cup of chamomile tea at night to slow me down and I also drink Echinacea tea when I feel a cold coming on but I can’t say that I follow this regimen to the fullest. I know that there are times when my body does require conventional medicines.

I also take medications prescribed by my doctor as well because hey, sometimes the herbs and oils won’t supply full healing but one thing I don’t like about  medications are the side effects. Sometimes one certain medication may work for what it’s prescribed for but then it causes so many other side effects that I have to wonder if it’s worth taking at all?  For example, my cholesterol was very high and unfortunately I couldn’t regulate it with proper diet and exercise. (I confess; that was due to my lack of consistency) I started a Statin drug (cholesterol lowering drug) prescribed by my doctor and it gave me such major joint pains. It made my body feel sore from head to toe. I couldn’t even get out of bed without being in tears. I had to stop the drug. I am back to being more committed to a proper diet. I have started taking the supplement; Red Yeast Rice and adding more fish oil and fish to my diet.

What started making me think about this stuff this morning was when I was reading Proverbs 5:4. This scripture  became embedded in my brain.  In the end she’s as bitter as wormwood and as sharp as a double-edged sword. I couldn’t help but really focus on the word wormwood. I know a little bit about this herb. Last summer the fleas were so bad that I used a little bit of wormwood and lavender on my dog to kill them. It worked too. I also know that wormwood can be very fragrant but has a very bitter taste. When I lived on the East Coast I grew this in my herb bed. Not because of its medicinal purpose but because the leaves were very pretty. Wormwood is also used in the manufacturing of wine and vermouth.  Get this though; Wormwood oil is powerful in killing fungus and bacteria. I had a great friend that applied it on her big toe to kill a toenail fungus and it worked. Another words, wormwood kills!!! It can be pleasing to the sight, but it’s a  killer!

So back to Proverbs 5:4…let’s back up to verse 3; Though the lips of a forbidden woman drips honey and her words are smoother than honey, in the end she’s as bitter as wormwood and as sharp as a double edged sword. Not one of us is immune to lustful thoughts. I’m not even talking about sexual thoughts; I’m talking about the lustful jealousy that invades our bodies on a daily basis. We could easily see something in our friends’ husband or wives that we wished was in our own spouse. “I wish my husband would open the car door for me.” “I wish my wife would keep a clean house like his wife does.” Those are wormwood thoughts.  They can kill our marriages.

Lord, today I pray that I would not allow any lustful jealous thoughts enter my mind. I know there are times that I am so capable of being jealous and can easily fall into desiring things differently. Please help remind me of all of the blessings in my marriage and all of the things that drew me to my spouse. Please guard his heart and mind as well because I know I am no picnic at times. I know I can be a real pill to live with and can say damaging things. Help us to keep our focus on you today.

Thought for the day: What kind of wormwood is lurking in your life today? Is it the fragrant scent or the bitter taste?

2 thoughts on “Wormwood Thoughts

  1. Elaine Stock January 14, 2013 / 1:57 pm

    What a fascinating topic. Wormwood. That explains yesterday’s battle. I usually don’t get thwarted by jealousy but yesterday I struggled over how other writers seem to have it so much easier than me in getting published. And then I took hold of myself: what was I doing envying others, especially when I didn’t know their whole story, and more so, knowing that God’s timing is different for each one of us and for excellent reasons. Do I want to mistrust, doubt God? No. I prayed for His guidance, and His forgiveness of my silly ways. The wormwood lifted. I am thankful.

    BTW, I’ve been there too with the Statin drug. They’re truly horrific things that cause so much other pain.

    Like

    • Beth Farley January 14, 2013 / 3:17 pm

      Thanks so much. I do believe I struggle with the jealousy quite often. It’s so hard fighting the thoughts. Thanks for visiting my blog and best wishes with your writing. Let’s keep in touch.
      Beth

      Like

Leave a Reply

