Fortune Cookie was a Misfortune

fortune cookie

I thought I wouldn’t react, but I did. I started out with eating a pretzel, then some toast and eventually had a half of a whole grain bagel without any gluten reaction. However, last night I had Chinese food and wow, was I ever miserable. I was full all night long, feeling bloated, had heart burn and my face was so oily. Could this be all from gluten exposure, or over exposure?

People can have reactions to wheat, as to any food, and I did react. I can’t say that I am 100% allergic to gluten. I think I just over did it with the amount that I re-introduced into my system. Remember, I have been GF for five months. The body’s different mechanisms of defense involved in each type of reaction to wheat can cause symptoms which can vary from person to person. The severity of the symptoms can vary as well. This time around, I had symptoms for sure.

Wheat, like all other foods, contains a number of proteins (more than 100), including albumin, globulin, gliadin and gluetenin, which together they form gluten. So, if my protein and my albumin levels are very low right now, does that mean that I NEED gluten? Hum, this is one of those times I really wish I knew what I was talking about. I do know that gluten is composed of two protein groups, namely gliadins, which give wheat dough its flow characteristics, and glutenins, which proved the elasticity in the wheat products. So how do I know if I really had Celiac Disease or not? I DON’T!!! And furthermore, the doctor’s don’t either.

So as I continue to dissect all of the perimeters of my health, I am no further along in my knowledge of if I’m allergic to gluten or not. I do know one thing though and have known from the beginning, that I can call upon God for wisdom, strength, and patience as I continue to follow through with doctor visits and tests. I do think I am approaching the right answers but the journey has been very mysterious. I’ve had such weird things happen to body over the last ten months. Even some of the doctors that I’ve seen have shrugged their shoulders. They are trying to figure this out but they really don’t know. They are NOT THE GREAT PHYSICIAN.

God, the Great Physician has given us the authority to pray and pray and pray over illnesses. What a great, warm-fuzzy feeling it is to have so many friends and family praying for me during this time. They are taking time from their own lives to think about me. The Great Physician can not only fix what’s wrong with us, he can help us stay healthy. He can remove the illness inside of us and He can also put us on the path to a healthier life! If your doctor is suggesting that you quit smoking, get on a low fat diet, and exercise more, then, please pay attention to him.  God does not allow situations to go to waste. Now that’s the kind of doctor I want in my corner; the Almighty Great Physician; the one who created me, has a purpose for my life and gives me all that I need from day to day.

How about you? Are you physically sick? Are you dealing with disease, the flu, bronchitis, phenomena; heart disease, kidney disease, diabetes or even cancer? Are you calling out to the Great Physician? Are you putting your trust in HIM?

My friends, I encourage you call upon HIM for healing. I encourage you to reach out to those you know that are sick and send them a note of encouragement, bring them a meal or just take the time to pray for them.

Exodus 23:25 NASB But you shall serve the LORD your God, and He will bless your bread and your water; and I will remove sickness from your midst.

2 thoughts on “Fortune Cookie was a Misfortune

  1. Mary Ann February 8, 2013 / 10:11 am

    I’m reading a book on FI or Food intolerances and find it fascinating. Many of the things we think we may be allergic to are not really allergies but just our bodies intolerance to certain foods. I try and remember that our bodies are God’s temple and my food choices are my way of honoring HIM.

    Like

    • Beth Farley February 8, 2013 / 11:12 am

      Amen, what is the book? I might want to look at that

      Like

Leave a Reply

