Overflowing Vats

 

            I was in the middle of writing my memory scriptures this morning when I had to stop and re-read one from weeks ago. It made me reflect on my weekend.

Proverbs 3:10…Honor the LORD with all of your possessions then your barns will be full; and your vats will overflow with fine wine.

My husband and I are not wealthy by the standards of the world. We own a little three bedroom town home, two simple cars and a motorcycle. We do not take extravagant trips, eat out often nor spend any unnecessary money on ourselves. We are very happy eating at home, shopping the second-hand stores and taking a 20 minute tootle on our bike.

This past weekend we were able to do something I think is special and it’s only because God placed it upon our hearts, and we obeyed. We invited my husband’s brother and sister over for dinner on Saturday night. His brother was involved in a car accident when he was only 17 years old and is now what some would say crippled. He walks around, hunched over with a walker and even putting his socks and shoes on is a HUGE effort for him. His sister just won the battle of breast cancer but in the process, lost everything she owned; her home and her possessions.

 We decided that since it was his brother’s birthday, that we would do something special. My husband, (the big-hearted man I’ve spoken about before) went out and bought some steak, shrimp and potatoes. While I was at work, he cleaned the house, got the dinner going and we all sat and shared a delicious steak dinner. This made my husband’s brother’s birthday so special but to top it off, we came out with a cake and sang Happy Birthday to him. We even had his brother spend the whole weekend with us. He was able to watch sports with my husband and just hang out. The rest of the weekend we ate hotdogs and other left-over’s.

Today I had time to reflect on the weekend and I feel like our vats were overflowing with fine wine. I felt like we were able to share our hearts with his family. I felt like we were able to share Christ in a very special way. His brother blessed me with the amount of scripture he has memorized and the heart wrenching stories he shared with me about his accident were captivating. His sister and I got to share our love for God with each other and she amazed me with her strength knowing she’s in remission. Thank you Jesus! We don’t normally have money to have steak but you know what? It was not about us. It was about God and knowing that He would provide for us to bring joy to another soul.

Today in the mail, I received my first $25.00 check for an article I submitted. Yea, tell me there isn’t a God. Of course there is and HE provide for our needs.

“But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

5 thoughts on “Overflowing Vats

  1. evefulton February 5, 2013 / 5:00 am

    Congratulations on having your article accepted Beth! I’m delighted for you, and it’s great that you see the hand of the Lord in this as so often we call out to Him when we are in need, but forget to thank Him when things are going well.

    Like

    • Linda February 5, 2013 / 7:15 pm

      Beth, Your writing brings tears to my eyes. . .May God richly bless you for the blessing you are to others. .

      Like

      • Beth Farley February 6, 2013 / 7:03 am

        Thank you so much. I love that you are reading my blogs. I love writing them and they are written from the heart with the Lord’s guidance. Blessings. Beth

        Like

    • Beth Farley February 6, 2013 / 7:04 am

      Oh I know, how litte we give Him when He is the Creator of all. I have to admit, I am spending much more time with Him right now in life. Thanks again for reading and visiting. Beth

      Like

  2. Mary Ann February 8, 2013 / 10:04 am

    Many times, God will through something at us to make sure we are listening and paying attention. I know mine is my health and losing our home. It’s made me aware that HE has never left my side, even thought I may have not spent as much time by HIS side as HE has by mine. Perhaps this is what we need as we journey into the next season of our life. Slowing down, taking time to read HIS word and meditating on what HE is trying to teach us. Thanks for sharing your heart with us. You are a true blessing to each of others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

