Time to Ponder

Holding Glasses over Bible

 

I was doing my studying this morning and had to sit for a spell and ponder. I’ve received some news that I didn’t want to hear. I have to have a kidney biopsy next week. I am not thrilled with this because, 1) I have no idea what they will find 2) I know the procedure is “uncomfortable” (doctor’s words) and 3) I don’t like to be knocked out and not have control of my situation.

Do we ever have control over our situations? I think we can make choices that have certain outcomes, but even in making though choices, we really don’t know what the future holds. We can go to college and plan on being a teacher, graduate and there be no teaching jobs available. I work with a handful of people at the library that got their education degrees and can’t find a job. We can save and save only to lose our jobs and have to dip into those savings. We can take supplements, exercise daily only to suffer a heart attack.

Does all of that mean that we should not plan? No! God wants us to make wise choices, and plan for our futures. We need to be wise. Wisdom is a discipline. While the gift of wisdom is our birthright, that is, while we are born with the capacity to become wise, we have to develop that capacity through disciplined observations. We have to think before we act.

I think we can live by practical matters as explained by Rabbi Rami Shapiro in his book Proverbs: Annotates & Explained: The wise learn from the softest whisper; the ignorant sleep through the loudest alarm. I believe if I am truly seeking God’s wisdom than I can hear his small whisper. If I am walking in my own accord, I will NOT hear the loudest of alarms. I will be walking like the ignorant. I love that analogy. Don’t allow your mind to be seduced by your own wisdom, but rather reach down inside, take time to ponder, seek the LORD, and then act. But, seek first the kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Matthew 6:33 NIV

Lord, you’ve slowed me down to seek and ponder and to give You the control of my circumstances. I am allowing You to give me the wisdom through Your Spirit during this uncertain time in my life. Thank you to the many who are praying for me. Please bless them!

8 thoughts on “Time to Ponder

  1. Linda February 8, 2013 / 9:43 am

    I am praying for you, pondering with you and want to hear with you , God’s whisper. . .
    Thanks for sharing the many “whispers” you have already heard. . .We serve a living God!!

    Like

    • Beth Farley February 8, 2013 / 10:04 am

      Thank you Linda. Isn’t it awesome when we are in His presence. I love that. I love when He gently speaks to me. I know there are many times He has to thump me on the head, but right now, He is being so tender and gentle with me. Thank you for praying for me. I feel so loved. Beth

      Like

  2. Mary Ann February 8, 2013 / 9:58 am

    I am praying for you and pondering with you as well. It’s so difficult to sit still and truly listen to the whispers with all the “noise” going on in our lives. I often find myself asking God what HE wants me to learn from this situation. I know for one, HE wants me to take better care of myself and learn to put myself before others. For too long, I have not put myself on my list of “to-do’s”…. didn’t have time. Now that I face health challenges, I am learning to think of myself and my needs…physical, emotional and spiritual. All of these aspects affect our total healing.

    Like

    • Beth Farley February 8, 2013 / 10:03 am

      I agree. Our thoughts can take over. Very important to fill our minds with positive things and take time to slow down or God will do it for us. When he does, follow Him. I believe that He is slowing me down for a reason but that I will be fine. I am totally trusting in Him. Take the time for yourself my friend. You are worth it. Beth

      Like

    • Beth Farley February 8, 2013 / 11:12 am

      Thank you. I feel very blessed to have so many precious people praying for me. Hope all is well with you. Think of you often.

      Like

  3. evefulton February 9, 2013 / 8:36 am

    Praying for you Beth, hope all goes well next week and the procedure is not too stressful for you. Keep your mind focused on God, on His grace and love and power, not on your circumstances, keep trusting Him and He will not only give you wisdom (James 1v5) but He will fulfill His perfect plan for your life, giving you hope and a future (Jer 29v11).
    It is good to make plans as long as we hold them lightly and are prepared to adapt when God has other plans for us.

    Like

    • Beth Farley February 9, 2013 / 8:55 am

      I love those scriptures. Thank you for praying for me and reminding me that He will not only give me wisdom but He has a perfect plan through all of this. I needed that today.

      Like

Leave a Reply

