Greatest Companion

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

My dog is so silly. She has so much personality. Four years ago, my husband purchased a Peek-A-Poo dog for my birthday. Before going we set out to pick her out, I had seen pictures of her on the internet and knew she was the one I wanted. When I got there, she was by far the funniest looking puppy in the litter, but I wanted her. Within just a few minutes of holding all of the pups from the litter, I never put her down. She came home with us that day. Because of my allergies, I needed a non-shedding dog, and I wanted a dog that didn’t require constant walking or grooming.

Peek-A-Chew the Peek-A-Poo is part Pekinese and Poodle. She is mostly white with a black patch around her right eye. When she is not groomed, she has the craziest, wooly, curly hair. I try to keep her groomed but there are times when we just get so busy that we overlook it until she can’t see past the unruly hairs around her eyes. We think her unruliness and furry beard adds to her personality. She weighs in at only 7 pounds and is only about 8” high. She is not your typical small dog that yaps and nips. She will bark at strangers but as soon as I say its okay, she will stop. She has never attacked anyone. She is fantastic with all of our 13 grandchildren, and believe me, they love her and torture her at the same time.

Peek is a designer hybrid dog. What does that mean? Well, it’s a cross between two purebred dogs. A purebred dog is one that has been bred over many generations to breed true, meaning each puppy that is born looks and has the same temperament and characteristics as the others. Peek-a-poo’s are known to be lap dogs. They love to be right by you if not right on your lap. This is so very true of my Peek. When I am in bed, she’s there with me. When I am in my office, she’s under my desk. When I am in the kitchen cooking, she’s under my feet. But here are the unique things about her that I just love.

Peek is very intelligent. She can sit, shake, roll over and give me a “high-five.” She knows the difference between “pa” and “ma”.  She knows that Pa means play time and going out in the back yard time and “ma” is snuggling, walking and feeding time. She knows the difference between going out and going for a walk. When I ask her if she needs to go out, she will go to the back door. When I ask her if she wants to go for a walk, she will sit by the front door until I get her leash.

There are some crazy quirks with her though. Like for instance, she will NOT go out in the back yard to do her, um, #2. She has to be walked all the way up the street to her favorite tree, way up the hill and when she does her business, whether it’s #1 or #2, she will raise her leg like a male dog. Another thing that she does is, she will totally bury her head under the covers when sleeping and as soon as you hold your hand out to pet her, she will immediately lie on her back for you to pet her belly. If my youngest daughter comes home from college and I hear her pull in the driveway and I say “Sister is home,” she will immediately run to the door. Peek loves her bath time and when I put her in the sink or tub, she will lie on her back and float in the water allowing me to spray the water on her belly. When she is sitting on your lap, she will face outward to watch the T.V. but then tilt her head all the way back, stretching her neck to look back at me. I have never seen a dog do that.  The cutest thing though is when she hears the sirens outside, I will say to her, “What is that Peek,” and she will do the Snoopy Howl. Yup, she sounds like Snoopy from the Peanuts Gang. She tilts her head all the way back and begins to howl.

I think the best part about my little Peek is when I am sick, which I have been a lot lately, she is the most wonderful companion dog. Every breed was created for a reason, and the companion dogs are no exception; Peek is no exception.  Their job is to keep people company, perhaps the most important work a dog can do. She performs this job to the fullest. That’s an endearing quality for me. She is my house dog, living indoors with ma and pa is her life. Her main goal in life is to be with us, to please us and to bring us comfort. She is dependable, lovable, true to her master, and right on my lap to bring me comfort.

 

What does the Bible say about friendship? How are we to choose our friends? How should friends treat one another? All of these are good questions and the Bible has some very good Scriptures to study to answer them. If you are feeling friendless or feel you don’t like to follow the crowd or feel tempted by the wrong people, here are some verses to help you along.

Proverbs12:16 One who is righteous is a guide to his neighbor, but the way of the wicked leads them astray.

Proverbs 13:20 Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise, but the companion of fools will suffer harm.

Proverbs 14:6-7 A scoffer seeks wisdom in vain, but knowledge is easy for man of understanding. Leave the presence of a fool, for there you do not meet words of knowledge.

Proverbs 22:24-25 make no friendship with a man given to anger, nor go with a wrathful man, lest you learn his ways and entangle yourself in a snare.

1 Corinthians 15:33 make no friendship with a man given to anger, nor go with a wrathful man, lest you learn his ways and entangle yourself in a snare.
Greatest Friend in God:

James 4:8 Draw near to God and he will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.

3 thoughts on “Greatest Companion

  1. Leslie February 10, 2013 / 9:31 pm

    You have a wonderful companion dog. I think God picked her out just for you. I’ve loved my dogs and the true, pure loyalty they have. And their absolute, unconditional love. You know God spelled backwards is …dog.

    Like

    • Beth Farley February 11, 2013 / 7:32 am

      Thank you Leslie. I do love her and she’s so silly and you’re right. She was picked out for me…Dog … God… I knew that but had a forgetful moment. Thanks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

