Coffee :)

coffee cup

There is nothing like a good cup of morning coffee, silence, and my Bible. Latte, Macchiato, Café’ Vienna, espresso…Are you keeping up with the trend of coffee’s? I used to be one of those all day coffee drinkers. I admit it, I am 100% addicted to my coffee. I would not only drink several cups in the morning and sip a cup or two in the afternoon, but I would top off my evening meal with a smooth cup of flavored coffee. For Christmas this year, I received two gift cards to my favorite coffee shop. I think the word has spread that I love coffee.

A few years ago I noticed that I was starting to tangle with some heartburn. It was not the kind where you reach for a Tums once a day; no mine turned into the kind that required some changes. My doctor prescribed a medication to be taken once a day and was told to come off of the things that irritated my stomach. Oh no! Not my coffee!!!

So, I tried to go “cold-turkey” by subbing my robust coffee for green tea, morning tea,  and smoothie. I didn’t like it at all. I even tried to fly in the caffeine-free coffee zone but found it would irritate my stomach just as much.

So, what have I done? I have simply just cut back. I have gone from one pot down to one cup; maybe two and as a result, no more medication is required.

With all of this talk about having to give up something I love or curving back on the portions, I realized that I am so thankful that I have not had to stop reading my Bible. Think of the persecuted Christians around the world that are not able to have a Bible because of political reasons. Could you imagine not opening up the Word of God and seeking, learning, feeling and praying over the open pages? I can’t stand when my busy schedule dictates over my time in the Word. It makes me irritated and unhappy when I am so busy that I have not even cracked open a page in my Bible; and I admit it; it happens.

My morning cup of coffee sits right on my table, in its proper pretty coaster with my Bible on my lap, paper and pen right next to me to record my thoughts. Oh and of course with my beloved dog next to me as well.  As I sip, I think. As I think, I sip. It’s a beautiful combination. They go hand in hand.

Lord, thank you so much that Your Word is always available to me. I pray that I would be more obedient to opening it and learning from it. I am so thankful that you are slowing me down right now and speaking to me. I am always excited to see what doors you will open through my “muck” in life. I am so thankful that I can still share my hot cup of morning coffee with you.

My soul waits for the Lord (with my early morning coffee) more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning. Psalm 130:6 NIV

Leave a Reply

