Hospital story part two

I didn’t realize that only part of my story about the hospital visit sent. Technology!!! Bugs me. Here’s the rest of the story.

6:20 p.m. “The resident doctors crossed off your time of departure so I’m assuming you need to stay the night.” Tears begin to roll again. “I can’t stay. My husband has to work tomorrow and I have to work and my insurance won’t cover me to stay the night. Can you call the doctor who ordered this procedure in the first place?” Can you guess what she replied? Yup, “I’ll check.” I am now crying out loud, Jesus Loves Me This I Know.”

7:00 p.m. The charge nurse comes in. “Okay, if you lay flat for another hour, you can then go home. The on call doctor at the hospital said they wanted to make sure there was no bleeding where you were punctured.” I replied, “How would you know if there was? No one checked it?” She rolls me over and says, “It looks real good.” I look at her, with sad puppy dog eyes that are leaking tears, “I don’t mean to be a pain but this has been a horrible experience. I just want to go home.” She replies, “I’m sorry. I know that you do. It is not that we were not trying. You were supposed to be on the renal floor, there was no room and so here you are and we were unprepared for what to do with your case. I’ll get the discharge papers drawn up now.” “Thank you,” I say. Thinking I am going to have to lay there one more hour was not a big deal after what I had gone though. I was soon to be on my way home, in my own bed with my little dog next to me and husband by my side.

7:20 p.m. The young nurse that I’ve had all day, the one that couldn’t get the I.V. in, who dropped my regular Tylenol on the floor, who must have said at least six time, “I’ll check” comes into my room with my discharge papers. She doesn’t even understand the instructions, kind of reads them off, has me sign them and says, “You can get dressed.” I had not laid there my additional hour on my back but I didn’t care. She walked out, didn’t help me out of bed or anything. She didn’t even offer. My husband helps me to get dressed and while I am in the bathroom doing so, a green jacketed man comes in with my wheelchair. Thank you LORD!

I get into the car and sing out, Yes Jesus Loves Me. Yes Jesus Loves Me…Thank you Leslie for reminding me to sing that song…Because the whole time, I knew Jesus was carrying me through all of the pain, fear and uncertainty. I would not have done that without you plantinng the seed. Thank you to all of my family and friends who were praying me through probably one of the scariest times of my life. Jesus loves you too.

 

3 thoughts on “Hospital story part two

  1. Caren Mitchell February 14, 2013 / 5:08 pm

    If they should send you one of those little cards requesting you fill out how you like your time in their hospital, I think you have every reader’s permission to respond 100% truthfully! You go girl, we all love you.

    Like

  2. Leslie February 14, 2013 / 10:13 pm

    Wow Beth, what a long, anxious filled day. I love the way you told this story, putting the time things were happening, makes it all relateable (sp?).
    I’m so glad you sang the song. It’s simple and comforting when you feel so vulnerable. His love is our security blankie. “Yes, Jesus loves us one and all.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

