Counting on God

 

How many times do we botch up our budgets? How many times have we been put in a situation where we’ve had to make some adjustments and we  get stressed out? I don’t know the percentage, but I think it’s pretty high; the amount of marriages that end in divorce over money issues. I could probably look it up but it doesn’t matter; we all face financial issues sometime in our lives and what we do in those times is really what counts.

Do we call upon God or do we take matters into our own hands? I know this time in my life right now has been hard on us financially. I have been forced to slow down, work less and count on Him more. Some would say that is a frightening thing but for me, it has been rather peaceful. Maybe it’s because I don’t do the bills in our household (my choice) and I don’t really ever see my husband get too stressed out about money. If he does, he’s really good at not stressing me out about it. I know we have taken a drastic cut in pay but we have also made some drastic changes in the way we live to accommodate this change. There is always room for more changes as well. We also trust God and lean not on our own understanding.

In today’s Proverbs Bible Study Group, Jennifer;  www.jenniferslatterylivesoutloud.com has encouraged us all to look at a couple of scriptures; Proverbs 20:11 and Proverbs 22:7. She talks about early in her marriage how she and her husband ran into some debt and how they became debt free. I love Proverbs 22:7 which talks about us being the borrower and Christ being the lender.  I also like Proverbs 27:12 which says, a prudent person foresees danger and takes precautions. The simpleton goes blindly on and suffers the consequences (NLT). Ouch!!! I like it because it reminds me to continue to get back on track not spend blindly because I never know what might happen. HE does, but I do not. Now that doesn’t mean that I don’t trust God; because I do. I trust that he will take care of my needs.

Do we really need everything that we have? Are you spending beyond your own budget? Are you being frivolous with your money and not thinking about your future? I am certainly glad that God has it under control but I also know that I have to do my part.

Hopefully this will trigger you to think about what you are spending your money on and if it really makes a difference…

Leave a Reply

