Preparing for the…Storm…

Snow_Storm_by_Vanilla105For the last 24 hours we have been bombarded by the weather forecasters warning us that we will be having a huge snow storm. We’ve been advised to stay home, stay off the road, and be safe. While watching the evening news, I noticed the listings of schools and churches that would not be open the following day even before a flake of snow dropped. At 10:00 last night, I received a phone call from my boss letting me know that the library would not be opening. Now for the library to do that way ahead of time, I knew this was going to be a big storm.

Yesterday I did everything that I thought was necessary to prepare myself for the storm. I picked up a few groceries; bought another bag of salt and cleared a spot in the garage for me to pull my car into. I stayed up just a little later than usual because I knew I would be able to sleep in.

When I woke up this morning at 6:10 (didn’t really sleep in) I immediately went downstairs, peeked out the window only to see that we had not even had a flake of snow hit the ground. I started to panic. I started to think that maybe I should get ready for work and be prepared for my boss to call again and say that the library is opening. I grabbed my cup of coffee, sat down and turned on the news. Sure enough, my fears were calmed because the snow was still predicted to head our way and hit us in a fierce way. Once I got my fill of the news, I looked out and saw that it was starting to snow. I turned off the television, grabbed another cup of coffee, grabbed my Bible and started to ponder some things.

Am I preparing myself for Jesus’ arrival? Just as I was preparing for the storm, I ask myself, Am I preparing myself for Jesus’ return? I don’t know when Jesus is going to arrive; No one does. The following scripture is so comforting though; even when I am not prepared, God is working on me. Phillipians 3:20 & 2120 But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21 who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.  What are some things that we can do to be prepared for the return of Jesus? First of all, we need to prepare our hearts.  I think back on a scripture we covered in our Proverbs Bible Study. It is an amazing scripture to consider as we think about preparing our hearts for communication with God. It is imperative that we communicate with God in order to know Him and guided by His Spirit.

Proverbs 16:1

The preparations of the heart in man, and the answer of the tongue, is from the LORD. (KJV)

As we seek God’s presence we become aware of some things within us that inhibit a close and deep relationship with God.  These show up in different ways and may take on various forms but when we dig down to the source we discover that all blocks to communication with God are beliefs or ideas we hold in our hearts. Just as I was preparing for the storm, watching the news, buying the groceries and getting the extra bag of salt, I ask myself again, am I preparing for the return of Christ? Am I creating a close intimate relationship with God? Am I allowing distractions to take me away from reading the Bible and spending time meditating? meditating

The verse in Proverbs can be seen as a wonderful promise of help – The preparations of the heart in us are from the Lord!  This means to me that God desires to help us by revealing and exposing those beliefs that keep us stuck and separated from Him. Since the beginning of God’s story, we see how He reaches out to his people. He wants to relate to us and us to Him. He wants us to commune with Him and discover that He wants to work within us to help us know Him better. He is always working in us. Wow! Thank you God.

Get prepared my friends. He will return one day. Where is your heart? What do you believe in? Please take the time today no matter how busy you become, take the time to thank Him for loving you and calling you to a relationship with Him.Holding Glasses over Bible

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Preparing for the…Storm…

  1. Linda February 21, 2013 / 3:35 pm

    Beth, I love this! Yes, it’s beyond comprehension that God prepares us to be prepared for Him! See , it doesn’t even sound right, but like you said, He is always working in us! Thanks for the beautiful reminder.

    Like

  2. Leslie February 21, 2013 / 9:11 pm

    Psalm 51:10 (NIV)
    Create in me a pure, (clean), heart, O GOD,
    and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

    It’s hard to grasp the full depth of His love. HE prepares us, If we yield to Him. That is my stumbling block, letting go and yielding. I still catch myself trying to make myself good enough for Him. Then I remember – I can’t, HE already did it, He already made me good enough. My job is yield and follow, and I am so very grateful to Him.

    Beth, a good article to remind us to stay on track, stay on course, and watch with anticipation for the return of our Savior.

    Like

    • Beth Farley February 26, 2013 / 10:00 am

      You got that right. Hard to stay on track but when we fall off the path, He gently puts us back on. Thank God He never gives up. Stay warm and safe. Beth

      Like

Leave a Reply

