Our Mess…God’s Business

So, yesterday while my husband and I were out, our dog Peek-A-Chew, Peek for short, decided to mess with our stuff.
I pulled into the driveway, unloaded the groceries, took Peek for a quick walk and gave her a “special” treat for doing her business. I got laundry started played with her for a while to remind her of how much she is loved and after our bonding time, I grabbed my coffee and headed upstairs to the office to write.GE DIGITAL CAMERA
When I got to the office door, low and behold, there on the floor was our mail strewn all
about. Peek decided to get rambunctious and get into our business. She had envelopes and magazines thrown from one end of the room to the other. There were scratch marks on some of the envelopes and if I could find anything good to this, it was the fact that nothing was chewed. She just messed with it. I guess she was bored or felt she needed to connect to us by getting into our stuff. I looked at her and sternly said, Peek-A-Chew!

 

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

She immediately went to her bed and put her head down. She knew she had done something wrong. As I was cleaning up the mess I started to think about how much I mess with God’s business.
God strategically places people, songs and events into my life and does not need me to come in and mess things up by controlling things that are none of my business. Indeed there are times that He calls me to do things. For example, he might ask me to help a friend, call a loved one or hug a co-worker but unless He calls me to do these things, sometimes it’s best to leave other people’s messes to Him. Romans 8:13 says, For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. ESV. Let’s concentrate on our own mess and leave the mess of others up to God, UNLESS, He specifically calls us to do something.

meditating
I encourage us to come boldly before God, admit there are areas in our lives where we need to let go; stop messing it up and give it to Him. In whom we have boldness and access with confidence through our faith in him. Ephesians 3:12 ESV
Lord, today I give you all of the situations in my life that I have no control over. I pray that I will not get into your business or the business of others unless You ask me to. I am so thankful that when I do mess things up that you WILL put me back on track and keep my mind on your will; your business.
Beloved, once you’ve given your mess to God, please accept the peace he has for you. John 14:27 Amplified Version… Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]
Thanks Peek for showing me but yet another couple of lessons. 1) Let God have my mess 2)Don’t get into other’s mess unless God calls me to and 3) Once I give God my mess, leave it with Him.

2 thoughts on “Our Mess…God’s Business

  1. Linda February 25, 2013 / 8:34 am

    Wow. . . ouch! What a message to heed. . . !

    Like

    • Beth Farley February 26, 2013 / 9:59 am

      Thanks Linda. Yup, I’m in the Being Still and learning stage. Usually means a lot of “ouches” for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

