Doors off the Hinges

 

          Another showing; that makes twelve in a month and in the middle of the winter! Wow!!! I hollered down the stairs as best as I could recouping from strep throat and a sinus infection, “Baby, we have a showing at 9:15.” He peaked his head around the corner of the stairwell and said, “Today? Can’t you say you’re sick?” I replied, “Sure I can but I won’t.” Surely I can go somewhere for an hour and my thought was, maybe this is the buyer. Out of all of our showings, this was the most inconvenient not only because I have been sick, but because I have let the house go. So, we quickly set out to conquer and divide. We loaded the dishwasher, made the beds, yes, that’s plural; I guess I was the one snoring last night. We quickly washed the toilets, cleaned the countertops and hung the fresh towels. We got ready for our day, locked up and left the house.

          While my husband headed out to work, I ran over to Panera to have a cup of coffee and bagel. I brought my Bible, my pad of paper and pen. I closed my eyes and prayed, Lord please let this be the buyer. It’s not that I don’t like our three bedroom, three bathroom, two car garage town house. We are just ready to move into a more affordable apartment with no responsibilities.

          Since I’ve been forced to work part time right now, we had to re-prioritize our list of wants and needs. We want to make sure that we can afford to basically live off of my husband’s salary if I have to totally stop working.

          We had our house on the market last fall but took it off during the holidays knowing that we would re-list it after the festivities were over. When we first listed it last fall, we were looking at relocating to a luxury apartment with high end appliances and hard wood floors. We were looking at places that would require us both to work, not knowing I would become ill and not be able to substantially add to our income. We had a five year plan all in order. That door was totally shut after I started working only part time in December. Thank you Lord for knowing your stuff.

          I have this standing joke with my daughter Shannon about her door always being taken off the hinges when she was a defiant young pre-teen. I would remove it during the day and when I went to bed at night, she would lean it back up against the door-way. Yes, very defiant!!!Despite that behavior, she is the most loving, compassionate young woman I’ve ever met and strong, wow so strong! I’m very proud of her. But, when she is acting up, I jokingly say, “Do I need to remove your door?” We both laugh.exterior-door-264x300

          Just recently she and my younger daughter Emma decided to embark on new journey together. You can read that on my blog entitled Tribute to My Kids.  I told my daughter that God not only opened the door for them, but He took it off the hinges for them so that they could both gracefully walk through it together.

All throughout our lives we have doors open and close. There are seasons where we are told to walk through and seasons where we are told, don’t enter. The question is do we obey?

Ecclesiastes 3:1 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens. NIV

This is also a season for me; illness; sale of my home; working part time; experimenting with my writing; being in isolation; meditation and prayer and walking in total faith and trust. God will open the door, take it off the hinge in His timing, and my husband and I will walk through it hand in hand.

 For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God. 2 Corinthians 1:20 NIV

I love that verse and am dedicated to memorizing it because no matter if God says “yes” or “no” I will always give Him the Amen!!!Holding Glasses over Bible

Oh Lord, I am so thankful that we didn’t walk through an up-opened door last fall. We would have been in such a financial mess. Continue to give us your peace knowing you have the right buyer all lined up for our home. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

 

          What doors are being opened and shut in your life? If God is re-directing your life, allow Him to take total control. Allow him to take the door off the hinge and replace it after you’ve held his hand and walked through in faith.

Beth

One thought on “Doors off the Hinges

  1. Linda March 2, 2013 / 11:51 am

    In some ways when I’ve had a door “slam” shut, ( as In being sure, sure it’s closed) I have been relieved. I maybe wasn’t happy, but there were no more decisions or”what if’s?”. When the door seems halfway open I get nervous deciding what to do. . .I’m sooooo glad The Lord is our doorkeeper!

    Like

Leave a Reply

