My Diagnosis + Satan’s Lies = CAPTIVITY…

As said earlier in the week, I want to write about the above equation.  First of all, all of you who have been following my blog know about my diagnosis of Idiopathic Nephrotic Syndrome. (Aka kidney disease)  It’s one that I was not expecting but one that I’m coming to terms with.meditating

 

Many days I want to jump out of bed, with a spring in my step, a song in my heart and laughter in my voice. Rewind…”That’s only in the movies…You can’t have that…You will be stuck there, feeling crummy for a long time. Roll over and pull the covers up over you and go back to sleep. You have nothing to do anyway because you are not important.” Those are just a few things that Satan tries to trap me with. He wants so much to get into my life from the minute I open up my eyes in the morning to the moment I shut them at night. He wants to get into my mind and manipulate it all day long. Frankly, it makes me wake up with my “mad” on. His lies put me right into captivity and it’s so hard to get out at times.

 

However, most days, I don’t allow Him. He is unable to mess with my mind when it’s wrapped around the Word. What I mean by that is, I am memorizing scripture and being able to use it for battle. We can spend time with God in our favorite chair with coffee and chat. We can meet God when we take a walk or sit and watch the sunset but none of that is going to prepare us for battle. No, we need to know the Word and be ready at all times so that when rough times hit us, we can raise the Word of God and say, “in the name of Jesus, I know that God’s Word is alive and active.  I may be walking through a valley right now, but God leads me beside still waters. Lord, do not withhold your compassion from me; your constant love and truth will always guard me. Psalm 40:11 HCSB

water

I know that there are days in our lives where we want to run as far away as we can from Satan but 1Peter 1:8 tells us to be ALERT and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.  I can either choose to stay armed and fully clothed in the full armor of God,

Ephesians 6:10-18 or I can wimp out and give into the lures of the nasty enemy.

 

Readers, I have fallen flat on my face lately not in praise but in defeat. But today I am here to say that I CAN get back up and if you are down there, you can get up as well!!! I am dedicated to not just spending time with God, although I cherish my coffee and chit-chat time; I’m dedicated to memorizing scripture so that I can recall it when I need it.

7 thoughts on “My Diagnosis + Satan’s Lies = CAPTIVITY…

  1. tisdalehelen March 6, 2013 / 11:20 pm

    Beth! I am so sorry I haven’t kept up with you as I should have. Hearing your situation today, I am so sorry I haven’t been there for you! Iwas reading you before you spoke of illness. I am so sorry for what you are going through! But I am so glad to hear you are able to put your armor on! I will definitely have you in my prayers; for your complete healing! May our God giveyou strength and encourage you in every way, as only He can! Look at you, just continuing in your writing! I love your gift!

    Like

    • Beth Farley March 7, 2013 / 6:57 am

      Thankyou so much for the comment and prayers. I have to workday but will chat later.

      Like

    • Beth Farley March 8, 2013 / 8:12 am

      Okay, I would like to thank you again for your kind comments. I love where I am in life, although I am sick, I am following God’s calling and it’s been a true blessing; I get to meet people like you. Thank you again.

      Like

      • tisdalehelen March 8, 2013 / 9:59 am

        Beth, I am so greatful for your response. So glad you you are in good spirits! And I am so glad I have met you. I certainly enjoy your writing. You are strong woman Beth! I know your help is in God. I would love to place you on my prayer list which I call my “HIT LIST!” They are the more urgent prayers & I keep the list here before me on a beautiful little board here at my desk! I just want to be one in the number interceeding for you! Have a blessed weekend Beth!

        Like

        • Beth Farley March 8, 2013 / 2:33 pm

          I tried to go to your blog but there was nothing on it that I could pull up. If you need any help, let me know. Beth

          Like

Leave a Reply

