Is a Kiss Just a Kiss?

What’s in a Kiss?

A kiss hello; a kiss goodbye; a birthday or holiday kiss. Is a kiss worth a thousand words? I remember when my kids were young and they would get sick with the flu or a cold, I would be right there with the medicine, chicken soup and a kiss. I would kiss them over and over just to reassure them that they would be okay.

I remember when I was young and struggling to breathe with asthma, my mom would rock me in the “Tiddley Doo” rocking chair, sing the “Tiddley Doo” song to me and kiss my forehead over and over. There was something about that kiss. It just made me feel so peaceful, secure and loved.mother and child

I remember when my dad became very sick with cancer and I was able to spend some time with him. I would bring him his favorite tapioca pudding and give him a kiss on the cheek. I can still feel the warmth of his cheeks on my lips. I wanted my kiss to reassure him that he would be okay. I know he felt it; he felt secure and loved.

A kiss can be a beautiful thing, but what if it is dangerous. What if you’ve just gotten into an argument with your spouse or a loved one? When you “kiss and make up” does it feel the same? Do you feel at peace, loved and secure or are you just going through the motions? I’ve been there. I’ve either given a kiss when I was not ready to or received a kiss when my heart was still hard and angry.angry child

Remember when Judas kissed Jesus in a way of betrayal? Now the betrayer had given them a sign, saying, The One I shall kiss is the Man; seize Him.And he came up to Jesus at once and said, Hail (greetings, good health to You, long life to You), Master! And he embraced Him and kissed Him]with [pretended] warmth and devotion. I love the amplified version because it emphasizes on the pretend embrace with the kiss. Then what happens? The soldiers came up and laid hands on Jesus and arrested Him.

Now let’s look at just a few examples of Jesus’ affection for us.

Romans 8:39 Nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

2 Corinthians 13:14 The grace (favor and spiritual blessing) of the Lord Jesus Christ and the love of God and the presence and fellowship (the communion and sharing together, and participation) in the Holy Spirit be with you all. Amen

Ephesians 1:5  For He foreordained us (destined us, planned in love for us) to be adopted (revealed) as His own children through Jesus Christ, in accordance with the purpose of His will.

We are so special to Him that he planned us in love. He calls us His children. Now that’s something to embrace…Lord thank you so much that even when my heart is hard, you don’t deny your love to me. You don’t walk away or hold onto anger when I’ve sinned. Thank you for always washing away my sins and embracing me. Show me how to be this kind of example to others.

Leave a Reply

