What a Crock!

 

What a CROCK…

I just had an encounter with my new crock-pot and want to make sure my words are reflecting who I am. Another words, I want to tame my tongue and not vent my frustration. I don’t want to be a CROCK.

I went to Bible Study this morning and as some of the ladies whipped out their Kindle’s and I-pad’s that had the Bible downloaded on them, I was fascinated and somewhat jealous; I admit it! I shared with them that I can’t even figure out the buttons and settings on my new crock pot. I have to admit, I want to know how to download all of that technology. I want to be able to just swoosh my fingers across the screen and the book of Revelation just pop up right before my eyes. (That’s the book we are studying right now). Instead I took out my good ole trusty paper copy of the Bible and right there before my eyes were the notes I jotted down from last week, from last year, from three years ago etc. I don’t want to be a CROCK and act like I have it all under control with the Bible being downloaded. I’d rather admit my short-comings with technology.Holding Glasses over Bible

Anyway, back to my Bible; My Bible is not just a tool to fight off Satan, nor is it just a form of communication with God, no it’s more than that. My Bible is a roadmap of my life. I have sections highlighted, underlined, and dated. I love that I can go to any version of the Bible and see where I’ve been. I can see where God has taken me and where He has showered me with love or disciplined me with his finger.

For those of you who have downloaded you Bibles, kudos to you. I think it’s wonderful that you’ve done that and it works for you. I do not judge. As a matter of fact, remember I am the one with the crock pot issues; however, I downloaded the Bible onto my phone. Yup; it’s small but when I am on my break at work, I can go right to it and read. It also has the verse of the day on there. There’s hope for me yet.crock pot

So, now that I’ve gotten that off of my chest, I have to confess. Okay here it goes. When I came home from study, I took out the new crock pot, got out all of my ingredients to make a beef stew, put it all in the pot, plugged it in and couldn’t figure out the settings. It kept beeping at me. It was not getting hot and the buttons were flashing.  I was getting so frustrated. I finally broke down and pulled out the instructions, and after playing with the buttons I figured the thing out. I had it set on HIGH, for 6 hours and left it to do its thing.

Feeling pretty proud of myself, I cleaned up the scraps of preparations on the counter, cleaned up the kitchen and dusted the house. While upstairs, I noticed that there was a wafting burning smell in the house. I thought it was from having the coils cleaned on the furnace on Monday so I really didn’t pay too much attention to the odor. I went downstairs, cleaned the bathroom, threw a load of laundry in and went to check on my good ole trusty crock pot. I quickly felt the sides; they were all nice and hot. Again feelings of accomplishment washed over me until I looked down and realized I still had the cardboard inside the crock pot. It was starting to burn. OM-goodness!!! I could have had a terribly burnt crock pot had I not noticed what I had done. I immediately grabbed the potholders and pulled the cardboard out. Thank you Lord for saving me from a possible crock-pot fire.crockpot 2

Is that just like us at times? I can be so on fire for the Lord only to realize that my words and actions are in conflict with what I am felling inside. I want to be true and genuine and not a CROCK. I may be working on the outside but the inside still has some stuck cardboard. I can’t function properly unless I am totally in God’s direction, God’s plan and God’s will. I want to be like my crock-pot. I want to be trustworthy but I have to have the cardboard taken out first, otherwise, I will not work properly.

I can choose to be alert to the heart of God and as I seek to understand what God is feeling, I have to get rid of anything that hinders me from working properly. He may share with me the intensity of His heart; and I want to be ready for that. He may ask me to do something for Him when around other people. And I want to be obedient to that.  He may sensitize me to the love He feels for others in their sufferings and in order to obtain the compassion for them that Christ wants me to have, I have to get intimate with Him. In order for me to be effective for Him each day, I have to give him the cardboard from within me.

Dear friends, if you are struggling to get rid of the things inside of you that are hindering you from working properly for God, please know that all you have to do is ask; He will give abundantly.

Mark 11:24…Jesus said, “Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

1 John 4:16…We know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.

Oh Lord, as I close my eyes and bow before your throne, please clean out the unnecessary “cardboard” from within me. Please help me to give each day to you and to trust you in all that I do. Amen.

10 thoughts on “What a Crock!

  1. Caren Mitchell March 15, 2013 / 5:44 am

    Caution: Always read the book of “Destructions” first! It’s why you can’t always go by the pictures! Whether we live in a “fishbowl” or a “crockpot” everything relates! Great entry, I loved it.

    Like

    • Beth Farley March 15, 2013 / 9:01 am

      Thanks woman! I know, I just always figure I can do it without looking at the directions. Kind of like my walk with God. I can do it without getting into the Word…NOT….:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

