Crunchy Rice From the Heart

 

Crock-Pot story #2: If you read my blog yesterday you are well-informed of my crock pot faux pas. I thought I had everything under control when I realized 30 minutes into the stew cooking, I still had the cardboard inside the crock pot. Ugh!

Well, the second half of the story is that I served rice with dinner and the rice was still crunchy. I was so disappointed. I wanted dinner to come out just right. I’m kinda one of those old-fashioned women who loves to cook for her man and have dinner ready and do it from scratch. I’m not a boxed meal kind of gal or a frozen foods woman. I’m not saying that we don’t sport a frozen pizza or a frozen pot-pie from time to time, but I would rather cook from scratch and serve it nice and hot on a pretty glass plate. Sometimes I even add the candle at the table.

Well, I don’t know what happened but my rice was rather crunchy. When I looked over at my husband, I thought he had a bone or something in his mouth. Then he quietly said, “the rice is a little crunchy, that’s all.”  I took a bite and said, “Kinda? It’s like crewing on sand particles.” Well, being on this new fixed budget, we ate it and bless my man’s heart, he had seconds. I told him its crunchy rice from my heart, meaning it didn’t turn out right but it really was from my heart fixed with lots of love.crock pot

Have you ever had one of those meals? You know the kind that you slave over and are so proud of and it comes out crunchy, soggy or just down right yucky? Did it bring you down or make you feel inadequate? We’re women. We’re supposed to have the meals just right and the beds made and the toilets looking like you could drink from them, right? Okay, I got a little out of control there.

When I bit into that crunchy rice I felt failure. I think my husband could tell how I was feeling hence the 2nd helping, with a smile may I add. He’s such a gem.GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Have you ever thought you were supposed to do something for God and it just didn’t turn out the way you thought it should have? You know…it turned out with either hurt feelings, misunderstood words or even like crunchy rice. Failure!  I am so VERY thankful that God will forgive me when I botch things up and He still loves me just the same.  My intentions are good and most often my intentions are from the heart, with love.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places, even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love he predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved.

Ephesians 1:3-6

Psalm 136:26 Give thanks to the God of heaven, for his steadfast love endures forever.

Dear friends, When you think you are doing something for God with good intentions and you mess up, just remember, you are loved for who you are. There are just going to be days when we serve crunchy rice.

 

Lord, please help us to remember your un-wavering love. Help us to recognize when we are or are not in your will. Help us to follow Your footsteps and when we step out on our own serving crunchy rice, bring us back to the stove to cook a little longer in your Word.

2 thoughts on “Crunchy Rice From the Heart

  1. Linda March 14, 2013 / 7:51 pm

    I love it—to “cook a little longer” in God’s word. Well said?

    Like

Leave a Reply

