Sealing Envelopes

 

While at my Bible Study this morning one of my precious gals came up to me and showed me some of the thoughts and prayers that she had jotted down while reading in her Bible. I loved the little sentences and the thoughts she wrote. They were so tender. What I didn’t like was the way she said, “I know, they’re stupid, but here they are.” First of all, my dear friend, they are NOT stupid and second of all, please don’t belittle yourself that way. When God speaks to us and we are driven to write, that’s a beautiful thing.

Do you think God gives us stupid things to say or jot down? I don’t think so. I think His Spirit is working in us at all times and jotting down HIS words are a precious and thought-provoking thing to do. I used to write out my prayers all of the time; still do some days. I felt that God spoke to me through my paper and pen. I loved those early mornings where I would sit by the fire on my farm and just write what He was speaking to me. It could be prayers for others, things that were irritating my soul or just random thoughts about the day. I have over ten 20 gallon size plastic tubs filled with those thoughts.

Why just this afternoon I jotted down something that I felt God was speaking to me about. I didn’t have any idea that He was going to have me share it with the world via my blog, but here it is. We spoke today about the Sovereignty of God; and how in Ephesians 4:30 we do not need to grieve God’s Holy Spirit because we are sealed by Him for the day of redemption. Oh wow, that stuck with me. We talked about the hot wax seal we put on envelopes and today I thought about redemption as I was putting stickers on envelopes to help seal them. The envelopes were filled with loving words of encouragement for our grandchildren for Easter and I sealed them with a special little sticker; a sticker of love.sealed envelope

God is so big and yet He has so much love for ALL of us. Have you ever wondered how he can hear every prayer request from the tiniest child in Africa to the mightiest in America? Our human minds cannot imagine. Not only does He hear us, He’s here with us. He’s everywhere! He is not limited to space or time. He is everywhere with the desire to seal his beloved for redemption. Can you imagine? God’s love is HUGE!

Many people haven’t grasped the depth of God’s love for them. They believe His love is like the love of other humans. That is a dangerous place to tread. We can be so fickle with our love and unfortunately vengeful at times. If we have been wounded it’s hard to comprehend the real meaning of love and may struggle accepting God’s love at all.

Here are a few verses that I’d like to share with you so that you will know that He does indeed love you; no matter what you’ve done, you can always come to Him, ask for forgiveness and you are forgiven. That is so peaceful. You will be sealed by Him for the day of redemption.

Ephesians 3:18 NLT; And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love really is.

Psalm 145:17 NASB…The Lord is righteous in all his ways and loving toward all he has made.

John 3:16: HCSB…For God loved the world in this way; He gave His One and Only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life.cross

Dear God, thank you for loving me with all of my faults. Thank you for allowing me to be me and for blessing me every day. I thank you that you have sealed me for redemption. Thank you that I am loved when I don’t feel loveable. Thank you sweet Father that when others don’t quite get me and walk away from me; you never leave me. I love you today God. I will love you tomorrow God. I love you for all you are in me, all you are through me and all you do as me. I love the answers that your truth brings; and I love the peace your presence brings. Amen.

Oh one more note: I looked up seal just to make sure I had the spelling correct and this is what the Merriam Webster Dictionary said: “To affix a seal to; to fasten with or as with a seal to PREVENT TAMPERING. We will not be tampered with. hallelujah!!!

3 thoughts on “Sealing Envelopes

  1. Debi March 20, 2013 / 5:19 pm

    We will never fully comprehend His love for us, will we? Love the Scriptures you shared.

    Like

  2. Caren Mitchell March 20, 2013 / 8:57 pm

    SWEET~

    Like

  3. Norma Groshans March 21, 2013 / 9:21 am

    Your words are very reassuring.
    I felt very peaceful during my surgical day yesterday. I know all the ladies in our bible study were praying for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

