Virus of the Mind

computer

The other day I was typing along when I had some sort of techno mumbo-jumbo-possible virus flash across my computer screen. I know a virus in your computer is a BAD thing. I also know that it’s important to keep up with your protections but not ALL protections will keep your computer from getting a virus.

What exactly is a computer virus? Computer viruses are small programs that can negatively affect the “health” of your computer. I know that they can create files, move files, and even erase files. I also know that a computer virus can consume your computer’s memory, and cause your computer to function incorrectly. I remember when I first got my computer, my son put all sorts of protection on it and I think I remember him saying something about having to renew something or other. Well, I took his advice because I didn’t want some of my programs to be in jeopardy of attaching themselves to other programs and I didn’t want to pass along the LOVE across networks.

I started thinking about my mind and how easily I can get a virus of the mind. I can easily forget all of my blessings when my mind is attacked by a virus. I have to tell you what a GREAT weekend I had with my girls being home. I am trying to stay focused on the positive of their visit and on how much fun we had rather than allowing my mind to be attacked by a negative virus and have it robbed of the true joy in the weekend. I miss them and they are far away but I am at peace knowing they are on the right path and that they have each other. They both have longed to live near each other for years.

We all know it’s hard enough to get our minds to stay well when it is healthy, let alone when it has been attacked by a virus. Therefore, it is better to prevent an attack than to try to cure it at the last-minute. How do we prevent a virus from attacking our minds? Get into the WORD of God. Get into our prayer closets; call out for help from other Christian friends and family to help hold each other accountable. There are many fake and dangerous antivirus programs out there that can suck us in.

For example we can go shopping when we don’t have money just for the temporary high. We can over eat just for the emotional high. We can guzzle a few drinks to numb the pain or take drugs to block out the pain. These are worldly anti-viruses. Some of the best anti-viruses we can install into our minds are Praise and Worship music; keeping our minds on the blessings of God and being thankful for what we have. It is a good idea to have these programs on our minds and in our hearts to prevent a viral attack from the enemy.MP900385327

I remember one of the verses that I memorized from our Proverbs Bible Study was Proverbs 16:3 commit to the LORD whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.  If I stay committed I will know his plans for my life. I also love, Hebrews 12:1-3 “…. since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith.” He has set a race before all of us be we don’t have to run it alone. He is there with us and all we have to do is keep our eyes on Jesus.

Lord, I thank You for the joyful weekend I had. I thank You for loving me so much that even when I fall short of staying focused on You, You draw me in by your mighty power. I thank You for your son, Jesus, who died for my sins and who loves me with an everlasting love. God if any of my readers are struggling today with a viral attack from Satan, please comfort them. Bring scriptures to their minds. Let them call out to others for help and know that you are right there with them.

One thought on “Virus of the Mind

  1. evefulton April 17, 2013 / 10:54 am

    Thanks for this Beth, I love your picture of protecting our minds with an anti-virus, and you are spot on with your recommendations – praise and worship music, prayer, and reminding ourselves of God’s blessings are all powerful ways to combat the enemies attacks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

