Filthy Clothing

 

Zechariah 3:3-7

Now Joshua was dressed with filthy clothes as he stood before the Angel. So the Angel of the Lord spoke to those standing before Him, “Take off his filthy clothes!” Then He said to Him, “See, I have removed your guilt from you,” and will clothe you with splendid robes. Then I said, “Let them put a clean turban on his head. So a clean turban was placed on his head, and they clothed him in garments while the Angel of the Lord was standing nearby. Then the Angel of the Lord charged Joshua, “This is what the Lord of Hosts says: If you walk in My Ways and keep my instructions, you will both rule My house and take care of My Courts.”

The Lord is going to cleanse filthy Israel, which will take place at the Second Coming, but only when Israel properly repents, which she most definitely will do, thereby accepting as her Savior, Lord, and Messiah the One Whom she crucified, the Lord Jesus Christ. God can take all of our daily filth and turn it into splendor by clothing us in splendid robes. I love this scripture because it reminds me how quickly I can be clothed in filthy clothes.dirty clothes

What would you do if you were clothed in splendor and given rule over God’s house and courts? The Angel of the Lord Charged Joshua: CHARGED…The KJ version says “protested” which means to “solemnly and earnestly admonish,” meaning that even though all of this would happen in the distant future, still, Joshua, who was the type, must also serve as an example of righteousness. Joshua was given rule over God’s house and His Courts. There are days I can’t even rule over my check book. But isn’t that what we are instructed to do? Be ruler over God’s House; His Holy Temple? I believe so. I believe we are to always be on guard to be rulers for Him.

Let me back up a verse or two. Verse 4 says, “Take off his filthy clothes! Then He said to him, “See I have removed your guilt from you, and I will clothe you with splendid robes.” How many days do we feel filthy as soon as we step out of our houses? Do we rebuke our neighbor because his cat got into our trash, drive along the highway and curse the slow-moving driver or get to work and join in the gossip going on in the break room? Ouch!!! Matthew 16:23 tells us we can easily say, “Get behind me, Satan!” For that is what Jesus said. And this is where our battle exists. Satan is always lurking to trick us up.

There’s great news though!!!You can rule your house, your car and your work only by being true to God, confessing when you are falling short of His will and we can allow Him to strip us from our filthy rags and allow Him to clothe us with splendid robes.

Here is a poem I wrote years ago and thought it was so appropriate…

 

 

The Blood

Oh the precious blood, that saved my soul,

It cleansed my body and made me whole.

It’s red and warm, and flows for me,

Some say it has a price, But for every believer, it’s free.

The pain that He suffered; the stripes that he bore,

Some cried out to stop, but they tortured Him more.

He bled for me, He bled for you,

He poured out his blood, to make us brand new. 

Oh that cleansing blood I love it so, I crave it more each day,

Once you’ve confessed and accepted it, it won’t ever wash away.

Bathe in it; soak in it, lavish it so,

Cherish the red blood; it comes with a cleansing flow.

Lord, I pray that we would always be mindful of how your Spirit is among us and gives us authority to rule in your home (our bodies). I pray Lord that we would be reminded this week especially, that the blood of Christ

5 thoughts on “Filthy Clothing

  1. Linda March 29, 2013 / 7:14 am

    I really really love the poem you wrote about the blood. Somehow I didn’t see this post until this morning which is Good Friday. I was meditating on the blood of Jesus and then I opened your blog and this confirming Word to me is blessing me . . .all of it! Yes, Lord, cleanse me, lavish me . . .with Your precious blood.

    Like

    • Beth Farley April 2, 2013 / 4:33 pm

      Thanks Linda. I know, I’ve been engrossed in scriptures on the blood of Jesus. He is risen!

      Like

  2. Beth Farley March 29, 2013 / 8:25 am

    I know; it’s awesome how God brings things to our finite brains. I am listening to Kari Jobe Revelation song over and over again. That would be a great one to listen to on Wednesday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

