The Crawl-Spaces of Life

Where in the world is the shut off valve? I reached under my kitchen sink to get the glass cleaner when I realized there was a puddle of water under there. Oh great! No one is home. Here I go again, trying to install something that I shouldn’t be installing.kitchen sink

I proceeded to pull everything out from under the sink…good way to spring clean for sure. I threw away so much stuff. Yes, I am even a neat freak even with my cabinets. I sopped up the water and looked at all of the pipes under there. Yup, I need a new Elbow pipe…Do I take it apart? Sure I do but guess what? I don’t know where my shut off valves are. Oh yea, I think they are under the house in the crawl-space.

I pulled everything out from under the stairs; found the hatch that leads to the crawl space. Yikes, it’s dark down there. It also has a very musty odor. Do I go down there and take a chance with my allergies getting irritated? I think I’m going down. WAIT!!! I can’t find the flash light. Let me hunt for that first. Where in the world is that flash light?

Twenty minutes later…I still can’t find the flash light. Okay, this job is going to be put on the back burner until I can find help. Until then, I will put a bucket under the pipe to catch the water and wait for someone to help me.

Where does my help come from? Look at some of these promising verses about Jesus being our help:

Psalm 34:6 ESV This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him and saved him out of all his troubles

Psalm 30:10 ESV Hear, O Lord, and be merciful to me! O Lord, be my helper!”

Psalm 122:2-3 ESV My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber.

 

 

Okay, I’m not going to tackle this one. I thought I would but have decided NOT to get under the house into the crawl-space. I am NOT taking the chance with my allergies. So, I will wait for my helper, aka, my husband who should be home within a couple of hours and not use the kitchen sink. I will however chomp at the bit to get under there with the wrench and replace the pipe once the water is off.  Yea baby! I get to break out my pink tools. I love the challenge.

You know, there are just some things in life that God just does not call us to mess with. I know there are times I step right into the crawl-spaces of His plan, without His calling, and mess it up.  Over the years though, I am learning to listen first before entering a dark territory without my light (Jesus).

Lord, I pray that I would be very careful to hold off from doing something that you have not called me to do. I pray that I would wait until I have your light upon me before I trudge into the crawl-spaces  of people’s lives. I pray that when I am equipped with the proper tools I will go full speed ahead. Amen.

Leave a Reply

