Living Biblically For One Day

Can you imagine living 100% by the Bible for one year? Can you imagine half a year or even a month? I know we all strive to live better according to God but could you imagine literally living your life instructed by God’s Word every day? I am currently reading a book by A.J. Jacobs named The Year of Living Biblically: One man’s humble Quest to Follow the Bible which was published in 2007.

This book spent three months on the NYT bestseller list, and was praised by Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, The New York Times Book Review, the Los Angeles Times, USA Today and others. This same author also published My life as an Experiment: One man’s Humble Quest to Improve Himself, Drop Dead Healthy and The-Know-it-All book.

Because I try to keep my blog pleasing to the Lord, I am not necessarily endorsing these books but the year of Living Biblically book really caught my attention. Not because I want to do what the author did, but I could definitely use improvement in the way I live my life.

I am overweight; I am lethargic at times, argumentative; deceitful; judgmental and sometimes downright evil in thought. Please don’t let me go any further, because I don’t want to end this blog on a negative note. I thank God I am forgiven and given grace every day to make improvements. Through His Spirit I can be full of energy, easy-going, and kind in thought.

This book really got me to thinking about living by the Fruit of the Spirit; to love my neighbor (which also means my husband and family members) and to keep the Ten Commandments. Ouchy!!! That’s all so hard to do.

Month Five of this book starts with Ecclesiastes 7:21-22 NIV…Do not pay attention to every word people say, or you may hear your servant cursing you, for you know in your heart that many times you yourself have cursed others.

Let’s talk here a little bit about mocking others. Ask yourself some of these questions. When you go to work, are you found around the water cooler laughing about others you work with? Are you someone who casts judgment about someone dressed differently? Do you see someone with full body tattoos and piercings and click your tongue in disgust? Maybe we should be more like Noah…it took him decades to build his arc specifically according to how God had asked him to. Don’t you think he faced mockery? If Noah were alive today I don’t think he would be worried about the latest gossip at work, the purple hair colored people or the overweight. No, he would be as A.J. Jacobs says, “at Home Depot buying more lumber.”

Easter, a time of reflecting and rejoicing…He has risen; He has risen indeed. This is when I start my resolutions, my life changing improvements. This is when I want so badly to do better for Him because I am reminded of what He did for me.

Again, I am not necessarily saying this book is a Christian book, but in skimming through it, I am reminded that I can certainly make some life improvements for Jesus.meditating

Lord, I am so thankful that You suffered and died and ROSE from the dead for plain ole me. I am very thankful for all that you’ve given me and today, I am reminded to give more to you. I am reminded to stop judging and stop gossiping and definitely stop whining. If one man can do this for a year, I certainly can do it for the day. Your grace is sufficient. Psalm 84: 11 NIV…For the Lord God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.

Leave a Reply

