God Moments

 

I was perched on the back of the Harley while taking in all of the spring greenery. The trees are starting to bud, the flowers are starting to pop open, and the animals are coming out of the thicket to nibble on the new spring grass.

While my husband and I were tootling down a country road, I pointed towards the pasture on the right that had a mama deer and her little ones, nibbling on the grass. My derrière was telling me it was time for a break, so we pulled over, and stretched out legs. I thought with the cutting of the engine that the deer would have been startled by the silence but instead, they just stayed there. I love nature and it was such a beautiful, peaceful and tender moment. It was a moment I was thankful that I could share with someone I love.deer

One of the things that the visiting pastor said yesterday made me think of this riding experience. The Pastor said, “The pleasure of praise is always heightened when shared with someone.” I could have seen the deer family on my own, but just knowing I was sharing that God Moment with someone I love, made it more priceless.

When I first met my husband, we used to say, “This is a first” when we would experience a new “thing” together. It could be an adventure or even just a new conversation we were sharing that we had never shared with anyone. I always found that to be amazing because I met him when I was 43 and he was 48. So, we had already had some “livin” under our belts. We would talk on the phone for hours and hours. He being a truck driver had nothing but time on his hands and me being so bedazzled by his charm, didn’t mind losing sleep to share our love for God all night long.

Eight years later, we are married and it’s still like a “first” when we see something that we know God has created. Although we get very busy and wrapped up with six kids, thirteen grandkids and feel like we are running a marathon at times, we still capture our “God moments” on the bike. We still say, “Thank you Jesus for this beautiful day” when at a stop light. We still point to the beauty around us. We still breathe HIM in.

Don’t forget to stop and take in God’s beauty. Let those moments be tattoos of the mind.

Psalm 24:1-2 The earth and everything in it, the world and its inhabitants, belong to the Lord, for He laid it’s foundation on the seas and established it on the rivers.

Thank you God; for you have created such beautiful things around me. I pray that today, on this dreaded, rainy, dreary Monday morning, that I will have my “God moments” and acknowledge you at all times. Please keep my husband safe on the road and as he’s driving, bring him “God moments” as well

2 thoughts on “God Moments

  1. Linda April 15, 2013 / 7:41 am

    I am soooooo blessed this morning reading this! Thanks for sharing that “God moment” with us. . . I will be watching for those moments of my own today. 🙂

    Like

  2. Beth Farleyrley April 15, 2013 / 11:11 am

    Thanks Linda; safe travels home. Been thinking of you. I need these God moments more and more. I am so thankful for them. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

