Are You In The Valley of Baca?

 

At the end of Bible Study we always take prayer requests and today was no different. The last few meetings I have had to leave a little early due to other commitments, but today I was able to stay and partake in the prayer request time.

There was such sadness in the air. It was like every woman was facing something overwhelming and was displaying some sort of weakness of the heart. It is during our weak times that we try to realize the Christs might. I kept singing, “They are weak but He is strong. Yes Jesus loves me…”

Just when we think that we are going through something that we think is too little or too big for God, His power becomes apparent and He delivers us. With each painful request, we were reminding each other of our support and HIS love for us. God also speaks to us in Psalm 84:5-7 NIV “Those whose strength is in you, whose hearts are set on pilgrimage. As they pass through the Valley of Baca, they make it a place of springs; the autumn rains also cover it with pools. They go from strength to strength till each appears before God in Zion.” Some travelers on their way to the Holy City were required to pass through difficult territory and they were promised that it would bring them extreme hardship, so the land became known as the Valley of Baca. Baca means to weep, bewail, or shed tears.

I for one have been in the Valley of Baca. I have been weeping and shedding tears for friends, loved ones, the people in Boston and for myself. There is so much sadness, hardship and emptiness all around us. We have to help each other. We have to make that phone call, write that note, send that email, share that coffee and pray those prayers for each other. God calls us to carry the burdens of others when they are passing through their Valley.

We will pass through difficult times. We will have seasons of despair, sadness, depression and loneliness. We will have times when we feel hurt, anxious, angry and uncertain. BUT…Proverbs 18:10 tells us “The name of the LORD is a strong tower, the righteous run into it, and they are safe.” Run right into His arms. HE is your strong tower.

Thank you to this wonderful group of ladies who give me strength just by their precious hugs.                                            women studying bible

By the way, I have to share how this devotion came about. I had just finished telling a friend that I was blank today; I didn’t know what to write. So after my dinner I decided to take a hot bath. I lit the candle, house was quiet, and phone was off. I brought my Bible in there and read the story about Baca and boom! It hit me!!!I thought I was done for the day but God said differently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

