Wide Open Place

 

Have you ever felt like God is moving you into a place or space that you’re not sure you’re ready for? I have known since last fall that God had been calling me to write in my spare time, hence going half time at work to honor His will. I love to write, love to encourage others and share whatever God is sharing with me. However, I toil with the financial aspect; although He has met ever single need.

Close your eyes for a minute and think of yourself in a wide open field; a field where you have never been. There’s nothing around you; no animals, no trees, no houses and no people. (That you know of) It’s just you and the wide-open place. What do you think about? I think I want to run like the dickens and get out of that big open STRANGE place. I don’t know it; it’s huge and I don’t know what’s lurking.darkness

In 2 Samuel 22:17-20 it confirms to me that God is taking me from the familiar to the very strange, unfamiliar. He reached down from on high and took hold of me; He pulled me out of deep waters. He rescued me from my powerful enemy (depression, anxiety, headaches, loneliness, emptiness or whatever it might be for you) and from those who hated me. They confronted me in the day of my distress but the LORD was my support. He brought me out to a wide-open place; He rescued me because HE delighted in me.

               That wide-open place is so fear-gripping some days because I’m so unsure of what I’m doing other than following Him one step at a time. But the other part of that last verse says, He rescued me because HE delighted in me. That’s all I want. I want to be a sweet delight to HIM in all that I do. I know so many people right now that need God to reach down to them, pull them out of the deep waters that they are used to treading in, and put them in the wide-open place where He wants them to be. It may be unfamiliar but God will NEVER place us where HE is NOT. It may be an unfamiliar scary situation, but He’s right there, never leaving you.

Are you in a wide-open place waiting for the next step; feeling some fear; panic or confusion? Let’s talk about this. Back up just a few verses: (7) I called to the LORD in my distress; I called to my God. From His temple He heard my voice and my cry for help reached HIS ears…(Even in the wide-open-unfamiliar space). Don’t you just love it! You can’t deny that He’s such a powerful, loving God. Mmmmmmm!!!

What wide-open place are you in today, this week or this season of your life? Are you confused or worried? If so, what are you doing to survive? Come and join us as we talk about God’s love and guidance. living by grace

2 thoughts on “Wide Open Place

  1. Linda April 19, 2013 / 7:00 am

    Thank you for this mighty Word. . .ahhh wide open spaces ,but then scary. . .how true. . I like what you said about “treading” water. . .I’m asking God to get me out!! And put where He wants me!

    Like

    • Beth Farley April 19, 2013 / 9:14 am

      Oh Linda, I am right there with you; treading water. The anxiety is high today but I know that it will be okay. I am heading to my session. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

