Is it the Still Point or God’s Point?

 

What is a still point? In doing some research on my library data base, I found an article that caught my attention regarding discovering your still point? Had you ever heard of this? On the Health and Wellness Resource Center database Health and Wellness Resource Center, I read that your still point is the gateway to natural relaxation. I’ve always known that tai chi, meditation, and yoga help with the harmful effects of stress in life, but, I had never heard of your still point. The article cites Robert Harris who is a stress expert and one of Canada’s leading cranial-sacral therapists. He says that “you can find your still point by contacting two very particular spots on the back of your neck. By finding these and knowing what to do, you can sink into calmness naturally and quickly”. He also states that “finding your still point also sustains the ultimate Shavasana; which is the ability to completely detach yourself from ALL thoughts!!! HOLD ON!!! All THOUGHTS!                                                                        !!still point 1

I am all for ridding my mind of harmful thoughts but all thoughts? I don’t think so. I don’t want to rid my mind of God. I don’t want to rid my mind of the Promises from His Word that speak to me. It’s true; humans don’t know how to rest. We have lost the ability to just be still. But I don’t need to massage my still point to be reminded to “be still and know that God is God.” My heart tells me that. If I empty my mind of that, I’m doomed.

I picked up a little book from the library called, Finding your Still Point; A Beginner’s Guide to Zen Meditation by John Daido Loori. In chapter 10, the author writes this:

Zazen is an important part of your life, as important as breathing, eating, and sleeping. The best way to do it is to FIT it into your daily routine. It even suggest a morning routine as follows: Get up; wash your face, brush your teeth, do zazen, have breakfast, take your shower, get dressed and go to work.

BUT, WHAT ABOUT GOD? WHAT ABOUT THE WORD? WHAT ABOUT PRAYING FOR THOSE WHO ARE COUNTING ON YOUR PRAYERS? WHAT ABOUT PRAISE TIME?

Listen folks, many can be taken in by other practices to relax and I am not suggesting that you refrain from yoga, deep breathing, meditation and tai-chi. What I’m advising is that you be very careful of ridding your mind of EVERYTHING. If you do that, you are ridding your mind of the wonderful promises God has for you. With everything that is going on in our world around us, we need to keep our focus on Jesus and keep our thoughts on His will. We need to allow the Holy Spirit to come into our bodies and help us. The only way to do that is through prayer, the Word, and praising HIM.

2 thoughts on “Is it the Still Point or God’s Point?

  1. Caren Mitchell April 22, 2013 / 5:46 pm

    Maybe if you got rid of all the bad stuff there would only be room left for God?

    Like

  2. evefulton April 23, 2013 / 4:19 pm

    I agree with this, Beth. As Christians we don’t necessarily need to be refrain from practices such as meditation and yoga, but we do need to be careful about how and why we practice them. I have been experimenting a little with meditation recently and have found it helpful in focusing my mind, but I use it alongside prayer, and my aim is to focus my mind ON GOD, not to empty it.

    I love that verse ‘Be still and know that I am God’, and that is often my starting point (or mantra, if you like) when I sit down to meditate. I ask the Holy Spirit to reveal His truth to me, and then I meditate on this or other verses of Scripture. Because I give the process to Him from the beginning I trust in Him to protect me from harmful ideas and to give me discernment to know what is truth and what is not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

