What Side of the Cross Are You On?

cross

 

What Side of the Cross Are You On?

How many times do we question what we are doing only to find out that it happened for a reason? Sometimes we are able to see why it happened and sometimes not. Well today is a perfect example of me seeing it.

I had a couple of precious gals come to my home this morning for coffee. We do this every so often just to visit and show our love and support for each other. My friend asked me if I would like to go to go do what I call, ministry work and before waking up today I was all about it. That story changed though because once I woke up, I didn’t know why at the time, I just felt I needed to stay home. I needed rest.rest

In choosing to stay home I of course beat myself up.  I allowed Satan to say things like, “Beth, it’s not about you. You need to go.” We are often told it’s about our service instead of our rest. Don’t get me wrong, there are times that I love to serve and there are times that I need to rest and today is one of those days where I need to take in the sun, the Word and the quiet.

This afternoon I went out to my driveway to get something from my car when a neighbor came out. I wanted to invite her to my little gathering this morning but didn’t have her phone number. I know she has had some really hard challenges lately. In visiting with her, I invited her to Bible Study tomorrow and she accepted. It’s not by anything I did but rather by how God orchestrated it. I didn’t need to beat myself up about not going with my friend on ministry work. I just needed to rest in what God was allowing to happen to my body today to make me want to stay home. If I had gone, I would not have taken the time to invite this neighbor who is very dear to my heart.

God has been calling me to rest and follow Him. “The Lord your God will give you rest by giving you this land.” When God calls us to rest, it doesn’t mean that we have to beat ourselves up and feel we are not doing something for Him. I sometimes put myself on the other side of the cross-before Jesus lived, died, and rose again, before God gave us the Holy Spirit as our Comforter. Because of that, I know I have eternal rest waiting for me when I go home but for now I also have rest, right here in my home and on this land.  May I leave you with the following scripture? This is for my sisters who are struggling with depression, anxiety, cancer, and loss of a loved-one. This is for my beautiful kids who struggle with day to day junk; I love you and always pray for you.

Matt 11:28-30

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,

For I am gentle and humble in heart,

and you will find rest for your souls. For my

   yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Oh sweet Jesus, I come to you in prayer for those who are hurting. There is so much in our world that can bring us down. I am so thankful today for the sunshine, the birds singing, the rest that you are calling me to. I adore You. Amen.

Leave a Reply

