Plunking a Goose into My Day

 

I was out running some errands the other day and was dealing with a little anxiety. The anxiety was coming from my very long “to-do” list that I created and getting every item checked off before I had to head into work. I was driving myself crazy. Do you ever do that? Do you ever cram so much onto your list that it becomes unreasonable? Much of this is coming from the fact that I have a little more energy these days so I’m soaking it up. But sometimes I soak a little too hard.

So, when I was running errands, zipping in and out of stores and answering my cell phone in between, I was getting overwhelmed. When I am out and about taking my time, I will park the furthest from the store door so that I can get a little extra walk in, but not this day. I was heading for the closest spot so that I could get it ALL done before having to head into work.

I pulled into the Target parking lot and went to zip into the only close spot when a woman zipped right into it before me. I was angry. I was looking down at my clock thinking I only had 22 minutes to get in and out of the store. How dare she take MY spot.  OMG, I have she just stole that spot; who does she think she is? I am ashamed to admit that there were much worse thoughts going through my head.

I zoomed down the parking lot, took the only available spot which was way at the far end of the parking lot. As I pulled in and shoved open my door, God caught my attention. There in the busy city Target parking lot was a goose sitting on a nest. She had taken the mulch and made herself a nest and was resting on it. Again, this was in the middle of a busy shopping parking lot. There were no trees, no bushes, just a pile of dried up brown mulch. Of all places, she chose to settle herself down.goose

I just stood there, took a few pictures and totally forgot my mission. I forgot my “to-do” list and took in the stillness of that moment. I leaned up against my car; I let my head slump down and apologized to God. I was so caught up in my agenda that I didn’t see HIM in my day at all until that moment. He showed me that I needed to slow down and chill and ask for forgiveness for the undeserving thoughts I had earlier about that woman.

We can encounter the inescapable presence of God if we take the time for God. How do we respond when life doesn’t conform to the way we think it ought to? I thought that parking spot was mine! At that moment I not only asked for forgiveness, I threw my list back into the car and just took a few deep breaths and allowed God to examine my heart.

               Psalm 139:105…Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and when I stand up; You understand my thoughts from far away. You observe my TRAVELS and my rest; You are aware of all of my ways. Before a word is on my tongue, You know all about it, LORD You have encircled me; You have placed Your hand on me.

I love this scripture because it reminds me of how much God loves me and how He is watching my every move. Yes, that can be a little intimidating but it is much more comforting to me knowing that HE can take my crazy day, plunk a goose into it and slow me down. He can turn my chaos into stillness and awareness.

Have you had any experiences lately where God just plunked a goose in your day? I’d love to hear about it and how you responded. Join us as we discuss how much God wants us to be in focus with Him.

living by grace

6 thoughts on “Plunking a Goose into My Day

  1. Jennifer Slattery May 17, 2013 / 9:15 am

    What a beautiful moment! We have bunnies that often visit our backyard, and every time I see them, I feel they are a gift from God to me. So precious!

    Like

  2. Caren Mitchell May 17, 2013 / 3:13 pm

    Ha, at least it was just a goose! If it had been a snake it might have bit you! Love you girl, sometimes you’re a real corker. Thanks, I needed that story today, it lightened up my day. ♥♥♥

    Like

    • Beth Farleybeth May 18, 2013 / 6:11 am

      Yay, I’m glad. That is my purpose of sharing my writing; I want to help others be lifted and share in the good with me. I give God the glory for allowing me to do this. Hope you are well.

      Like

  3. Beth Farleybeth May 18, 2013 / 6:10 am

    When I was in Independence last week, I sat in my car during my lunch to read and right there before me was a family of ground hogs. I remember the days I would chase them out of my garden with the rake, but that day they were so precious. The babies were so little. I love nature. I love when God slows me down with His creation.

    Like

  4. Marilyn Michels May 18, 2013 / 6:33 am

    I always enjoy your devotionals!!! The goose sitting on her nest, just “resting” & not caring about what was going on around her makes me realize that I need to be “resting” in God more & to slow down & not worry so much about what is ahead. To focus on Him, like the goose was so focusing on her nest!

    Like

    • Beth Farley May 20, 2013 / 7:36 am

      Thank you Marilyn. It is very hard to do … resting is not my thing….But most often, my “thing” is not God’s thing so I have to get in balance with HIM.

      Like

Leave a Reply

