I Lift My Eyes

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Lifting my eyes…Why do we close our eyes when we pray? Do you? The author of psalm 121 is lifting his eyes up towards the mountains. Do you think he has his eyes closed? Does it matter?

When this 51 year old body hops on the back of our Harley, and believe me, hopping is an understatement. It’s more like a lunging balancing act, praying every bone in my legs will make it over the seat. It’s not a pretty sight, but it is what it is. Once the helmet is strapped, I’m situated on the back, and give my husband the “thumbs-up” then we’re ready to pull out.

Most often, we avoid the busy highway and take the scenic route to wherever we are going. As soon as we’re on those back roads I look up towards the clouds. I take in a deep breath and thank God for that moment. I lift my eyes towards the mountains and know that my “all” comes from God. I begin to allow my shoulders to drop and I begin to bask in HIS glory.

Many of you would never get onto the back of a motorcycle and would find this hard to enjoy and relax. I happen to love it. There are times that I raise my arms, feel the wind and let go and let God. I remind myself that the LORD protects me; the LORD is a shelter right by my side. The sun will not strike me by day or the moon by night. Vs 5, 6.

Last year when we came home from a long ride was when I first noticed that something was wrong with me physically. My legs were swollen like over sized water balloons and I thought for sure it must have been because I was in one position for so long. Here I am a year later, diagnosed with a kidney disease. It has taken me down more days than not, but I will not give up the fight for 100% health and I will not forget that MY GOD will protect me from harm; He will protect my life. The LORD will protect my coming and going both now and forever. Vs 7, 8.

If you are struggling with an ailment, lack of money, job loss, death, depression/anxiety, fear of the unknown, please remember that the LORD is right there with you. He will not allow your foot to slip; your protector will not slumber.  Vs 3

Dear friends, what do you do in times of fear? What do you do in times of doubt? What do you do when all you can do is look up? Are you seeing Jesus? Do you truly know that your help comes from God the Maker of heaven and earth? I am learning that more and more each day and I truly learn to trust in His plan. It is nothing like what I thought it would be, but it’s our plan. We’re working on it together.

May you truly find comfort in the Comforter.  He will not leave your nor forsake you. He loves you with an everlasting love. I can’t imagine what you might be going through nor can you imagine what I’m going through but together, we can bring our prayers and petitions to Him and know that He hears all. We can “let go and let God.”

Dear Father,

Thank you for the many blessings that I have. I pray today that if there is someone who is dealing with depression/anxiety or fear of the unknown, that you would remind them that you are right there by their side. I pray that you would help those who have lost so much in the Oklahoma Tornado’s and for those who have lost loved ones in the Boston area. May we continue to look up!!!

 

living by grace

2 thoughts on “I Lift My Eyes

  1. Linda May 31, 2013 / 7:18 am

    This is beautiful. . .as I was reading this I just enjoyed looking at the sky, feeling the wind of freedom with you and exclaiming that my help DOES come from the Lord!

    Like

Leave a Reply

