What Are You Reading This Summer

What are you going to read this summer? As a librarian I find all sorts of books being checked in and out on a daily basis. You know how they say, “you can’t judge a book by its cover?” Well, I do. I usually gravitate towards books that are crisp and colorful. I am normally a non-fiction person and mostly Christian non-fiction. I love to read books that are going to help me grow and focus on Jesus. However, lately, I have been dabbling in some Fiction books as well. When I get into a reading frenzy, I have to admit I tend to stray from the most important book of all, the Bible. How can I balance the best of both worlds? I want to be consistent in reading the Bible and have my journal time with God and I want to read my other books as well. Put that desire on top of work, chores, errands and social time; well, there’s not much time at all. What do you do when you are struggling to make time for the Bible?

Here are some things that I’ve incorporated into most days of my life…Not all; just most.

  • First of all, I set my alarm for about a half hour to an hour before I have to get up for work. I don’t hit the pavement but rather, hit the coffee pot, journal and Bible. I spend that time reading and writing.
  • Later in the day is when I hit the pavement and I take that time to chat with God; to praise Him and to listen through my surroundings.
  • Lastly when I go to bed, I try to read just a small bed time devotional.

When do I have time to read the other things that I love as well? I read them in between. I read on my break at work. I read on my lunch break and I read most nights when my husband is traveling. I read at the pool, I read on the couch and yes, I read before bed. There are times when I get torn with the questions like, Am I reading too much fiction? Am I spending enough time in the Word? I really struggle with these questions because I’m a time manager. I make lists and check them off; but I don’t want my time with God to be on my list. I want my time with God to be Spirit filled and intimate.

Do you struggle with this as well? If so, what are some suggestions you can offer to others with the same dilemma. Join us as we discuss this today

.https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Living-by-Grace/208718449189065?fref=tsliving by grace

Beth

Leave a Reply

