Clots in the Mind

We all have strengths and weaknesses that merge into our journey of life. Why do we feel we are not successful when we do not love?

Let’s explore some wise words as we walk towards spiritual growth. Notice I said walk, not run. Spiritual growth takes time; it doesn’t happen in a “microwave moment.” We don’t feel successful because we do not have love; the kind of love that allows God to control our hearts. “And now these three things remain; faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” 1Cor: 13:13 NIV…This kind of love means that we are no longer to place ourselves before others; not easy right? If we take some time to look deep within our hearts, to the essence of self, we can truly break barriers of stagnation. If we ask the Holy Spirit to guide our hearts, then the words will follow.

Our lives need truth and order. I know I need to clear the clots of my mind daily and by spending time with God each day and enjoying the people around me, the friendly and the unfriendly, then, I will suddenly see the release in loving others through Christ. We can be set free of internal disturbances and restlessness, and conditions from harboring resentment which prevents us from love. How? Like I said earlier, it takes time. Love is not something our brains are wired to do without thinking first. But, by allowing daily intervention by the Holy Spirit, we will get there.

How do you love the unlovable? How do you place others before yourself? Do you want to live restless lives or living with resentment every day? I don’t know if this is for someone who needs to pick up the phone and call a loved one you’ve avoided or if you have a teen in your home that needs that unconditional hug even though they’ve broken many of the rules? If so, get down on your knees and ask the Holy One to enter and clear the clots from your mind.

Jeremiah 17:9-10 “The heart is more deceitful than anything else, and incurable, who can understand it? I, Yahweh, examine the mind; I test the heart to give to each according to his way, according to what his actions deserve.” This is causing me to leave this page, get on my knees and ask God to clear the clots from my mind today and show me who needs my love. Won’t you join me?

Beth

living by grace

2 thoughts on “Clots in the Mind

  1. Linda June 17, 2013 / 7:47 am

    Convicting. . . this gave me A LOT to think about. . .. . and think about. . . . .

    Like

    • Beth Farley June 21, 2013 / 6:57 am

      Well, I like to challenge all of us, including myself, to think of the things of God rather than of ourselves; our limitations.

      Like

Leave a Reply

