NO CONTROL

 

I love Psalm 63; it is one of my favorites and I particularly like the way it reads in the HSCB Version. Starting in verse 1, “God, You are my God; I eagerly seek You. STOP!  – Do you eagerly seek God? Next line; “I thirst for You.” STOP! Do you thirst for Him? I sure did this week. I wish I could say that every day I earnestly seek Him; but sometimes I am so circumstantial or as Poppy Smith’s book title says, “I’m to Human to Be Like Jesus.” (Stay tuned to my review soon).

This week I had the stomach flu. On the first night, I had bad cramps and was crying out, “God, take this from me. I can’t handle it.” I was calling out, seeking and thirsting for Him. Why do I wait till times of trouble to call out? I should be calling out every day for our Nation; soldiers; economy; family etc. There are things happening all around us that need our prayers.

Since I’ve been diagnosed with this kidney disease, I have had to call out, trust and rely on God more than ever. I’m in an unknown place and since my diagnosis I have researched each medication, had consultations over and over again and the bottom line is that everyone’s body is different and that my body may react differently than someone else’s and I have to see just how it goes. See how it goes? I’m not a see-how-it-goes kind of gal!!! This is too weird for me. The medications, the side effects, the limitations; all so inconsistent! One day can be up and then next two can be down. My legs can be like balloons one day and more like oranges the next. The headaches come on then the next day, I’m feeling okay, so I take a walk and the leg cramps start in. I have NO control over any of this.  But one thing that I have had is God’s perfect consistent timing and provisions.

Four ways I’ve been able to see God working through this difficult season of my life are:

  1. Obvious answers to prayers
  2. Evidence of His Care
  3. Ability to continue to serve Him
  4. His perfect timing

Over and over again I have seen our financial obligations met; it has not been easy but the bills have been paid. I have received great care from the doctors’ but my Great physician has been with me every step of the way. Although there have been several down days, I have not given up on reaching out to others as He has asked me to. I pray for others and in being obedient to Him, He shows up over and over again to remind me that I can never become so discouraged that I can’t see the road in front of me.

Verse 4: So I will praise You as long as I live; at Your Name I will lift up my hands…I ask you, where have you seen God’s glory lately? Are you praising Him? Are you seeing Him work? Numbers 6:24

The Lord bless you and keep you;

The Lord make his face shine upon you.

And be gracious to you:

The Lord lift up His countenance upon you.

And give you peace…

Come and chat with us on Living by Grace  living by gracehttps://www.facebook.com/pages/Living-by-Grace/208718449189065

Leave a Reply

