Thumper?

“Thumper.” “Yes, mama.” “What did your father tell you?” Head down, kicking dirt, Thumper replied, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”  Do you ever hear that voice from the Almighty saying to you, “Beth…?” I do. I love that scene in the movie Bambi. Thumper was just rambling on and apparently said something he should not have said .                                                                                                     .thumper

What about us? Do we say things without thinking? Or, are there times that we intentionally say things because we are somehow in pain? Pain is real life and handing pain and our desire to get even over to God is very hard. But…it is the ONLY move to make when we’re trying to live our lives for God’s kingdom. Romans 12:17-21 tells us to never pay evil for evil. Revenge is never our prerogative. That’s God’s job and He does NOT need our help.

Have you ever had a pre-meditated revengeful thought and carried it out, only to find it didn’t work or really didn’t feel as good as you anticipated. I don’t know a lot of evil people but I do know some that just feel that getting even is the answer to every wrong that has happened to them. Now think about this….Think about co-workers that have wronged you, have taken the credit for something you did. Think about the X that walked out on you leaving you with little children and to top it off, didn’t pay the child support. Think about a loved one who either verbally or physically abused you. These are ALL legitimate reasons to want to get even. As frustrating and painful as these situations are, when we trust God with the situation, He gets at the core of the matter, enticing perfect justice.

I find now that I can give my anger over to God. It’s easier now in my 50’s then when I was in my 20’s and 30’s. I don’t know why because I still have situations that I get frustrated with but I guess I feel that I just need to live out the rest of my life in the positive. I’ve wasted enough precious time in life, focusing on the negative. How about you? No matter what age you are or what situation you are in, try to let go and let God.

Remember this, when you want to lash out or get even, Yahweh does His job in His timing. Proverbs 20:22 advises, “Do not say, “I’ll pay you back for this wrong!’ Wait for the LORD, and he will deliver you.” (NIV)

2 thoughts on “Thumper?

  1. Linda August 13, 2013 / 8:06 am

    Beth, What a great analogy. . .what a great message!! I will remember “Thumper” at those difficult times! 🙂 “Let the words of my mouth . . . .be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord. . . ” Ps 19:14

    Like

Leave a Reply

