Five Thanks

 

One thing I’ve always had is a gratitude journal. I would jot down my little and big thanks daily. Somewhere along the years, I’ve gotten out of the habit. Not that I don’t softly whisper my thanks or in other times shout them out, but when I stay in the habit of writing them down, I can really stop and focus on the good in my life.

Think about it. How many things could you jot down each day? I’m not talking about the huge things like a raise, a new job; a successful surgery or the sale of your house, which are all awesome for sure. No, I’m talking about the little things like the ability to take a deep breath; enjoy that first sip of morning coffee, the birds that are greeting you with a soft song or the end of the day sun set. In short, there’s so much to be thankful for and without acknowledgment we are missing out.

Try it. Get out a notebook, doesn’t have to be fancy and start with just five things that you are thankful for. If you put your mind in a more thankful spirit, can you imagine the energy you will emanate today?

  1. Thank you for the sun today.
  2. Thank you for our community pool.
  3. Thank you for the day off to catch up on rest.
  4. Thank you for my little dog.
  5. Thank you for the laundry being done.

I could go on and on but I said five and I don’t want anyone to see my overachiever personality.

Today Dear Creator of the Universe, I thank you for the ability to share my thanks. May I walk in peace today with an open heart no matter what obstacle hits me. I pray that I will make this my new routine again.

Beth

Leave a Reply

