What are You Thinking?

What’s Your Conscience Saying?

Even before I became a Christian, I had a conscience. If I did something wrong as a little girl, my conscience would bug me, wrestle with me until I would finally go tell mom that I did something wrong. I just don’t like it when I know I’ve done something wrong to someone. It bugs me and I have NO peace what-so-ever.

I think sometimes it has to do with whom I’m hanging out with. I can “follow the crowd” if I’m not careful and thoughtful of my words and actions. Jesus said in John 17:15 that we are to be IN the world but not OF the world. I am not praying that You take them out of the world but that You protect them from the evil one. They are not of the world, as I am not of the world; sanctify them by the truth. Your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, I also have sent them into the world. I sanctify Myself for them so they also may be sanctified by the truth.

               We are different. Do people know that we are different? It can’t be because of the cross around our necks or the bumper stickers on our car. We have to be salt in the earth and people have to see that in our behavior. If our food is flavorless we will grab for the salt to season it, flavor it. If salt were to have no flavor, it’s bland and useless. God calls us to be salt of the earth, full of flavor. Matthew 5:13…13 You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. NIV. You can have a healthy conscience or an over-active conscience. I’ve succumbed to both many-a-times. I’ve had seasons where I’m skipping along with Jesus, my conscience is clear. Then there are times where I’m over conscious at to taking the blame for everything; feeling guilty for things I didn’t do. I went through that as a child and carried it into my adulthood. Finding the balance is difficult but it can be achieved if we stay in the Word and stay in prayer with God.

So, what if you have an un-peaceful conscience? I believe if you don’t have peace about what you are doing, then just don’t do it!!! I personally need to gain Godly peace before I can have a peaceful conscience. Have you recently let someone down, hurt someone or not backed out of a commitment you’ve made? I have and I have felt very guilty. But to make that wrong a right, all you have to do is get alone with God and say, “I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have done that; then if God prompts you to, ask the person for forgiveness. It’s that simple.

I am at a time in my life, where I really want things right especially with God. If God has to tie me to the altar, that’s fine. I’d rather do that than walk away still messing up. When I went to church this past Sunday I received communion and it felt so right. I sat there and did not feed on a snack but received the whole meaty meal. I gleaned and soaked in everything that was said about being aware of my actions. Wouldn’t you know it, twice this week, I’ve been reminded about my conscience. Ouch! I’ve failed. Maybe I didn’t stay at the altar long enough? God, I’m sorry. I messed up. I said some things that I shouldn’t have. Please forgive me. It’s that easy.

Are you struggling with something you’ve said or done this week? Come and join us as we talk about it at Living by Grace. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Living-by-Grace.                                    living by grace

Leave a Reply

