Decisions! Decisions!

Come and join us today as we discuss past decisions and how we can grow from them. It’s a tough subject because we ALL have made decisions that we are not proud of. How do we move on? I am hoping my devotion today will move your heart towards HIS.

What in the world were you thinking? Have you ever had moments in life where you’ve looked at someone in disbelief of a decision they’ve made? Better yet, have you ever looked at yourself in the mirror and thought the same thing? Why did I ever make that decision?crying-woman1

When I am traveling through the desert in life, I often ask myself, “Was that decision that has left me confused, of me? Or, was it of God?” I know God is not the author of confusion, man is. I can get extremely confused when things are going wrong in my life.  Unfortunately some decisions that I’ve made along the way were not of God but rather of what I manipulated them to be in order to fit my needs at the time. Been there?

God gives us the freedom of choice but if I’m floating along in life on my own, I’m a lost vessel. Challenges in the past can hold us hostage to move forward into the future. Some of the decisions I’ve made I can’t change and some are very hard to let go of. Are there decisions that you’ve made that you just can’t let go of? Please believer know this, hanging onto them will only cripple you and cause you to camp out on the wrong side of the river.

How do we let the bad decisions go? First of all, no decision is bad if you’ve learned from it and have brought it before God for forgiveness. Second, we are set free at the cross. Jesus tells us, “Therefore if the son makes you free, you shall be free indeed” John 8:36. Third, when those past bad decisions start to resurface, remember when the Israelites summoned their courage by remember God’s power. They were able to surge forward; the stories of their deliverance spread throughout the land. Don’t you want to be able to share your stories of how you were delivered from a bad decision that you made? I do.

Challenges await us in our future. The enemy plans to fight against us, but “He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world.” 1 John 4:4. Bring it all before the Lord today; all of your past that haunts you. How hard is it for you to shake off the past experiences that drag you down? Join us today as we discuss our past hurts, our bad decisions and how God has delivered us.  I will leave you with this:victory in Jesus

Don’t for a minute let this Book of the Revelation be out of your mind. Ponder and meditate on it day and night, making sure you practice everything written in it. Then you’ll get where you’re going, then you’ll succeed. Haven’t I commanded you? Strength! Courage! Don’t be timid; don’t get discouraged. God, your God, is with you every step you take.

Joshua 1:8-9 THE MESSAGE

living by gracehttps://www.facebook.com/pages/Living-by-Grace/208718449189065

 

2 thoughts on “Decisions! Decisions!

  1. Susan Stilwell September 4, 2013 / 1:14 pm

    This is a great visual, Beth: “camp out on the wrong side of the river.” Definitely NOT where I want to be, but pulling up stakes and wading across can be really hard. I’m heading over to your Facebook page to check out the conversation.
    btw – loved your guest post at Edie’s yesterday!

    Like

  2. Beth Farley September 4, 2013 / 2:56 pm

    Thanks Susan. I was so excited to do that. Thanks for the encouraging words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

