Eyes Open

 

John Lennon once wrote:

                           Living is easy with eyes closed, misunderstanding all you see…

As Christians sometimes we miss the call; we see only what we see and miss God’s purpose. Are you living with your eyes closed?closed eyes

I have many-a-times missed God’s calling. Sometimes it was right away and other times it was after the fact. God calls each of us to something and yet, we often walk around wondering what that something is.  Do you remember as a child sitting in class and putting your focus on the teacher as she was putting the math equation on the black-board? You were 100% in focus because you didn’t want to miss it. Even now, as adults, we sit close to the priest or pastor so we can pay close attention to what the events of the week are going to be or when the pot-luck supper is. We are all focused on something at all times. It could even be a football game. I saw a lot of that going on in my home yesterday; but so often our focus is not on what God’s purpose is.

It’s the same concept. God calls us out and tells us to pay attention; you are going to misunderstand if you don’t pay attention. Sometimes I feel God saying, “Beth, pay attention. I’m going to give you an opportunity to bring glory to me and I don’t want you to miss it.” Guess what? I miss it. All too often, there is a spiritual warfare going on inside of us involving God, Satan and me.

        My son, pay attention to what I say; listen closely to my words. Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart; for they are like those who find them and health to a man’s whole body. Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life. Put away perversity from your mouth; keep corrupt talk far from your lips. Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze directly before you. Make level paths for your feet and take only ways that are firm. Do no swerve to the right or to the left; keep your foot from evil. Proverbs 4:20-27 NIV.

I pray that this week you are challenged to keep your focus on Christ and that you see Him working even with your eyes closed. God has a plan for your future because he’s had a hand on your past. Praying

2 thoughts on “Eyes Open

  1. Linda September 9, 2013 / 1:09 pm

    I love that last line. “God has a plan for your future, because He’s had His hand on your past.” That really touched me. . . . I will continue to meditate on it. . .thanks! 🙂

    Like

  2. Beth Farley September 10, 2013 / 2:10 pm

    Thanks Linda. I know … I was very humbled by that thought. We are nothing without him and we can’t be going into our future without remembering that He has been in our past; every part of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

