Love Story

It just didn’t cooperate. We were all geared up for the ride. Our bike was gassed, matching T-shirts were on, and water bottle was filled. It was 10:00 a.m. and already the temperature was 84 degrees. The forecast was calling for very high temperatures with high humidity. We thought we could get out there anyway, but no deal. It was dangerously hot so we had to cancel our plans. We had been looking so forward to this ride. We were meeting family and friends for breakfast and then riding in the 911 benefit ride. We made a wise choice to stay home, but I was really disappointed. I moped around the rest of the day; like it was the worst thing that could ever have happened.
A little later into the day I read a story on the internet about a woman who needed a kidney transplant but there were no matches. She and her husband waited and waited and waited until she became what you would call, in critical condition. She was going into kidney failure. While turning down the bed sheets one night, she asked her husband, “What are we going to do?” He replied, “I don’t know but I will figure it out. Don’t you worry about it.” He tucked her in, pulled down his side of the covers and curled up next to her stroking her hair.
The next day he ran to the hardware store to buy materials to construct a sign. He put it together and told his wife he was taking a walk. He walked nine miles holding the constructed sign that read:
KIDNEY FOR WIFE!!!

Sick Young Woman Lying in Bed

The next day he walked a little further, and further than the day after that. Not giving up, he continued to do this holding the tattered sign. He finally had a response from a woman who lived miles and miles and miles away. He had walked 54 miles and she responded, “Yes.” What a true love story of a husband and wife, a stranger and GOD.
Wow! The doldrums dissipated. It brought tears to my eyes and I was reminded that it was NOT the end of my life that I didn’t go on that ride. I have a kidney disease as well and this could have been me. Oh how God humbled me to remind me of my blessings every day. Psalm 139:5 says, He has protected me from harm. God has always proven himself as a faithful father. Now it falls on me to be his trusting child. When my plans change and I get upset, I pray that I will accept what God will give me and trust in that. Relying on him alone for encouragement is enough…
In my particular case today, God protected me from swelling, over-heating, burning skin and possible dehydration. That’s my love story.

wedding-ring-template1

Leave a Reply

