ACORNS

acorn 1

I can’t believe it’s the middle of September and we are still experiencing very hot weather; like in the upper 90’s hot! Not only has it been hot, but it’s been very dry too. On my walk early this morning I was noticing how many acorns are on the ground already. The squirrels are very busy gathering them up for the winter. I started to do some research on oak trees and acorns.

I didn’t know that Acorns were nutritious and never gave any thought to humans being able to eat them. Acorns have a lot of protein.   Also during WWII Japanese school children collected over one million tons of acorns to help feed the nation as rice and flour supplies dwindled. There are ways to clean the acorns, heat the acorns, cook with the acorns etc. I just always thought you could only craft with acorns, you know, those little people figures using the caps as the hats and the nut held the faces. For further information on the acorns and oak trees here was a fun web site: www.eattheweeds.com/acorns-the-inside-story.

I got even more curious and wanted to see what scripture had to say about acorns and oaks.

 Genesis 13:18

Then Abram moved his tent and came and dwelt among the oaks or terebinths or Mamre, which are at Hebron, and built there an altar to the Lord. (An altar was built under the oaks)

Genesis 18:1

Now the Lord appeared to Abraham by the oaks or terebinths or Mamre; as he sat at the door of his tent in the heat of the day. (God appeared to Abraham under the oak tree in the heat of the day)

Genesis 35:4

So they (both young men and women) gave to Jacob all the strange gods they had and their earrings which were (worn as charms against evil) in their ears; and Jacob buried and hid them under the oak near Shechem. (False gods were buried under the oak tree)

Joshua 24:26

And Joshua wrote these words in the Book of the Law of God; and he took a great stone and set it up there under an oak that was in (the court of) the sanctuary of the Lord. (Joshua wrote words under the oak)

So much more history is available in the Word to reference the oak trees. This all captivated my attention when I went to my first bible Study yesterday and we were looking at pictures in the Purpose Driven Life of the acorns. The acorns were dangling from the tree with the vine and the branches.   Oak trees have been around a long time; over 2000 years ago and the acorn still dangles from the branches today. All of this acorn business got me to thinking about John 15:1-8.

            15 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes[a] so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

So I became educated by my curiosity of the acorn and oak tree but more importantly I was reminded that God is the gardener. He will cut off every yucky branch on me and leave the fruit bearing branches. I cannot bear fruit by myself; I must remain in the vine. May we all take that message from my crazy story of an acorn.acorn 2

Beth

2 thoughts on “ACORNS

  1. Norma September 12, 2013 / 6:30 pm

    Thanks for your research on Acorns.   I grew up in the country and there was a giant oak tree in our yard.  We enjoyed climbing it and basked in it’s shade on summer days.  We were told by our parents that the acorns were poisonous so we never attempted to eat them. Now at the age of 72,  I learn they can be eaten after cooking the bitterness out.  I probably won’t be eating any, but it’s nice to know they are a source of foot if the going gets rough. Norma

    In God We Trust        Norma   

    ________________________________

    Like

    • Beth Farley September 13, 2013 / 7:42 am

      I had no idea either. I kept thinking about the acorns in the book that we were looking at and then when I took my walk I took a few pics with my phone and next thing I knew I was writing about it and searching the Bible. Funny how God works at times. You are right; it the going gets tough, we have acorns. We had better get them before the squirrels. Beth

      Like

Leave a Reply

