I’m Sorry….

 

I’m Sorry. Ugh, why it that those two words are so hard to choke out at times? I can go on and on and know that deep down inside of me, I need to be apologizing but I can’t get the words out. Am I talking to any of you in this conversation? Can you raise your hand and bow your head? What do you do when you know you need to apologize and yet you don’t do it, or it takes you forever to apologize?  MP900385327

I think that when our tender hearts hurt we feel we can lash out and retaliate. “That’s just the way that I am.” No! If you’re that way, then change it! He who is in you is greater than he who is greater in the world. 1John 4:4

I am so surprised at the aftereffects of being hurt deeply. I can hurt and be disappointed and then quickly chew on something else; seldom allowing my pain to be completely digested. I think much of my confusion in life is due to giving my attention to the next feeling too soon. Every feeling lingers in the remnants of the feelings that are not finished with me yet. Don’t spend so much time bouncing from emotion to emotion. Give guided energy (not just time) but guided energy from the Holy Spirit. May I suggest the following when your emotions are bouncing all over:

victory in Jesus

 

  • Sit quietly before God & focus on one feeling at a time. Ask Him to speak to you, soothe you and teach you.
  • Deep breathe, tend to whatever emotions are still lingering and affecting you.
  • Blow out the pain. Do not leave this moment with God until you can face your emotions with confidence and peace.
  • Recite scripture; allow the Words that were breathed by our God to be healing for you.

Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble. Proverbs 21:23 ESV

I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. For by the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think with sober judgment, each according to the measure of faith that God has assigned. For as in one body we have many members, and the members do not all have the same function, so we, though many, are one body in Christ, and individually members of one another. Romans 12:1-21 ESV

Leave a Reply

