Compassion Ministry

 

Poverty is not necessarily an issue to solve; it is an opportunity to serve. As we go through each day, our heart’s cry should be, Lord, where would you have me give, serve, and invest myself to bring hope to the poor?
~Orphan Justice Author, Johnny Carr

I had to give the above quote some serious thought. I had a friend say the other day that it was time for a vacation. I responded with, “You bet but I’m flat broke.” Am I? What is flat broke in my world versus flat broke in the world of those who are starving, live in lean-tos’ and have no drinking water?

If I attend one more function where so much food is thrown out, I am going to scream. This applies to attending my own dinner table as well. I can’t throw away left-over’s when there are so many starving. I am in the beginning of studying the Purpose Driven Life with a group of very wonderful women and it has taught me to put others before myself and serve.

We have a huge food pantry at our church and I am so thankful that there is an opportunity to work there, but have I volunteered? Not yet, I have not. Compassion Ministry is such a wonderful faith-based ministry for the starving who don’t have access to the food pantry, the soup kitchen, or the bread ministry. There are no shelters for them to crawl into when the temperatures run low or air conditioners to run when temperatures run high. Compassion International exists as a Christian child advocacy ministry that releases children from spiritual, economic, social and physical poverty and enables them to become responsible, fulfilled Christian adults.

Think of your own children or grandchildren. Think about how they can choose what to wear, what car to ride in to get to school, what kind of back pack to carry and what shoes to wear. Do you give any thought as to giving up an evening out to dinner with the family to sponsor a child in need? I go back to the quote above by John Carr…Where are you to serve? If you feel you are to help out with this ministry, I urge you to go to www.compassion.com and follow the links on how you can help. Remember, all it takes is just a little bit of sacrifice of your own life to their life. Think of what Jesus did for you in order for you to have what you have.

blog-month-450x200-BlogPost

 

Leave a Reply

