Memory Monday

Memory Monday
What do you need to remember today? Is it a meeting with your boss? Is it to pick up your prescriptions, stop at the grocery store to get milk, take the kids to soccer practice or visit with your friend for coffee? If you are anything like me, you are usually trying to remember several things at one time. It does not matter how many calendars I jot things down on, I am usually bound to forget things.
Today, in the process of trying to remember my next thing to do, I forgot where I parked my car. There I was in the middle of a huge parking lot looking for my little white car. I didn’t realize there were so many little white cars available to a consumer until this moment. I have a car that does NOT have a car alarm. I chose it that way and up until now, it had proven to be a good choice.
I’m in the parking lot I am starting to feel paralyzed by panic. Where in the world is my car? I am becoming plagued with fear. Do I start to walk the parking lot like a frantic dog looking for its owner? How embarrassing! Panic has wrapped itself around my legs. My heart is beating like I’ve run a marathon. It was a year ago this Halloween that I had my little white Volkswagen BUG stolen. It was taken from me in broad daylight in the parking lot of the public library I work for. I remember walking out of the library going to my normal parking spot, looking for my car. I thought maybe I walked to work that day, but no. I walked back inside the library and my co-workers asked what was wrong. I replied with tears running down my cheeks, “My car has been stolen.” Before I knew it, one co-worker was out in the back of the parking lot, another was in the front of the parking lot and yet another was on the phone with the police. I was instructed to go to the police department to fill out a report. The funny part, if you can find anything funny to this story was that, I was dressed up like a gangster for Halloween so here I was, driving my co-workers car, crying as I walked into the police department…looking like a crying gangster. Long story made short, they found my car, my bug that I had waited so many years to have, smashed downtown. Three days later, I had to go to the tow lot and identify the body. I remember I had to get into this prisoner-like van with a strange elderly man who grumbled, “You have three minutes to get your belongings.” There I was face to face with my car. I was paralyzed. I turned around and said, “I don’t want anything.”

bug
Having gone through all of that almost a year ago, my panic NOW is NOT senseless. I am closing my eyes, taking a moment to ask God for my car. Please calm my nerves Lord and help me find my little car. Faith time God. Please take control and I will put my trust and faith in your eyes not mine. Breathe steadily and focus. Alas, there it was, my little car; it had been blocked in by two huge vans and one gigantic truck so no wonder why I couldn’t find it. Okay, they weren’t that big; I just truly had a senior moment and was trying to remember too many things at once.
Today, for a little while, I was a laboratory for a faith experiment. Did I pass the test? I don’t know. Did I cuss? NO! Did I cry and allow the panic to overtake me into a huge panic attack? NO! Did I ask for God’s help in faith? YES. I passed.
Monday’s Memory: One step equals one move in one positive direction.
Yet the Lord is faithful, and He will strengthen [you] and set you on a firm foundation and guard you from the evil [one]. 2 Thessalonians 3: 3

2 thoughts on “Memory Monday

  1. Norma September 30, 2013 / 2:45 pm

    Great story and I’m happy you passed the test. 

    In God We Trust        Norma   

    ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

