Friendship Friday

 

~ۓ

Get your singing voices on. Ready, set, go!

What a friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and grief’s to bear! What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer. O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear, All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.

Isn’t it wonderful that God wants to be our best friend? You can tell Him anything at any time and He will not only listen but He won’t judge you. Oh yes, He will discipline you, but only in a loving way.

“God, how can you ever forgive me for gossiping? God how can you forgive me for getting drunk, for stealing, for committing adultery, for cussing, for being so judgmental, for having an abortion…the list goes on and on and becomes very personal to us.

Matthew 6:14-15 says, for if you forgive men, when they sin against you, your heavenly father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your father will not forgive your sins.

I have a funny story to share. I have a black sweater that I usually leave at work and a co-worker has a similar black sweater. A few weeks ago I was cold so I grabbed the black sweater hanging in the break room, wrapped it around me and carried on. Well, being convinced that it was mine, I thought I had better put my initials in the label. My co-worker came in and thought it was her sweater and I said that it was mine…She said, “Oh it must be because your initials are in it and I don’t have my initials in mine.” Weeks later, I was cleaning out my bedroom closet, and I found my very similar black sweater. It was identical but…was missing two buttons. Oh the shame. I washed her sweater put her initials on the label over my wrongful owner initials and apologized. She was so kind and didn’t make a big deal of it at all. Now that’s a friend.

This is important! We must forgive those who have hurt us in order for God to heal us. The sweater thing was minor but let me tell you, I have bigger things in life that need my forgiveness. Friendship is a priceless gift. I am so thankful for all of my friends, from the ones that have moved away to the ones I see every day. God has truly blessed me. James 5:16 tells us that If we must confess our sins to each other and pray for each other, so that we may be healed. We all know the pain in holding a grudge. Don’t carry a cloud around your heart. Is there someone you need to forgive today? If so, please do it.

What do you do when you can’t shake yourself free of a painful hurt, where you know an apology is necessary? Come share your thoughts with us at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Living-byGrace. living by grace

Leave a Reply

