Monday Moments-Forgiveness & Trust

Retaliation or resolution? Where do you channel your energy and emotions when you just can’t seem to forgive someone?

I recently read that forgiveness is about letting go of the past and that trust has to do with your future behavior. I definitely struggle with both. I hang onto the past for way too long which ruins any chance for a peaceful future.GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Forgiveness should be immediate even if the person hasn’t asked for it; but trust? It takes time to re-build trust.

Rick Warren says that, “if someone hurts you repeatedly, you are commanded by God to forgive them instantly, but you are not expected to trust them immediately and you are not expected to allow them to continue hurting you.” For many years I got these two powerful words mixed up. Forgiveness is immediate, trust takes time.

My Monday moment thought…Do we truly forgive and forget? I’d love to hear your feedback on this question because I will be honest with you, I do not. It takes lots of time and ultimately surrender of myself.

Leave a Reply

