Quietude

 

What does Quietude mean? It is the state of being quiet; tranquility; calmness; stillness. It’s origin 1590-1600.  I was drawn to a book at the library yesterday called Holy Silence: The Gift of Quaker Spirituality by J. Brent Bill. I was drawn to it because of the word silence. I have such a hard time practicing silence. A group of ladies in my neighborhood come together one night a week and meditate for 15 minutes to a guided meditation tape. I was very apprehensive at first because I thought it was going to be a hokey-pokey religious thing, but it was not. It has turned out to be one of my most favorite times of the week. It is a time where I totally surrender to God. I empty out all of the bad things from my day, release all of the bad thoughts and just am still.shan and alex

How do you embrace silence? We are all so busy in life and when it’s time to wind down, we turn on the television and slump onto the couch, or open up a good book we’re reading. Those are winding down tools, not silence tools. When was the last time you really sat down and became silent so that you could listen to God? We often talk to a pastor about a situation or talk to a trusted friend or read the Word of God. Those are all good, but being silence has its own distinctiveness.  When you practice the art of silence, God reveals His presence. He grants us insights, guidance and spiritual wisdom.

How do you practice silence? Do you practice silence? Share with us today as we are discussing quietude/silence/tranquility/calmness.

One thought on “Quietude

  1. Beth Farley October 18, 2013 / 8:01 am

    Wow I had some sticky keys on this post. Sorry for the errors. Better cut back on the caffeine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

