Ministry & Me

 

Have you fell in love with doing ministry? When I was about fifteen years younger I developed a love affair with ministry. I wanted to help out in every area of the church. Because of that love affair, I abandoned my first love, GOD.

Throughout my life I belonged to several churches and I did my part to help out wherever I could. After a while though I felt like I was wearing a neon sign that said, “I’ll do it.” I loved each and every committee I served on including the nursery but, all of the gatherings I had in my home; all of the car washes I helped the Youth with; and all of the other events I attended either serving inside or outside of the church drained me.  I had no energy to visit with God. I no longer hungered after God’s heart, I was too busy.

Friends, find your balance. While helping inside and outside of the church, please don’t sacrifice your intimate time with God; this will only lead to spiritual decay. Don’t cheat on Him. There are times we have to sit back, evaluate and know that it’s okay to say no rather than yes so that you can spend more intimate time with God.

Are we to be servants of God? Yes, of course. Are we to stray from Him? No of course not. If you are struggling with the balance and if there is a ministry to let go of, please be still and pray. Draw near to God and ask Him what to let go of to be able to spend more intimate time with Him.

Lord, I pray that if there is someone out there reading this blog and is struggling with where to let go in their ministry either inside or outside of the church that you would draw near to them and reveal to them Your desire for their lives. I thank you so much that when I turn left, You pull me back to the right. Amen.

Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded. James 4:8 NIV

Have you recently had to let go of something in order to gain some more time with God? Are you struggling with letting go or saying “no” to some ministry? If so, we would love to hear from you. Come join us today  Living by Grace. Living by Grace

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

