The Life Waiting for Us.

Mindful Practice, paying attention to your present-moment experience sounds so enticingly simple and easy however, it is NOT! God tells us not to worry about tomorrow because today has enough worries of its own. Can I hear a hearty Amen to that!!! Have you ever put an inspiring quotation or scripture on your refrigerator door, and for a while, every time you saw it, you were inspired? Then comes the day when you look right past it and before you know it, it has become a bunch of meaningless words. What do you do? You replace it with a new quote or scripture, right!!! That happened to me recently. I put up a scripture and I recited it every day. Then I forgot about it one day, then two and before I knew it, the scripture was nothing but words. Why? Because of my attitude.

We need to be in the practice of being mindful. There are some things that I’ve learned over the last year that I’ve put into practice but that doesn’t mean that I don’t slide off the bandwagon from time to time. There are  five things I try to incorporate into my day:MH900409444

1. Try not to fit too much into a day. I am trying to only multi-task when I absolutely have to. If I do more than I am supposed to do, I just get stressed out. I mean come on, I’m a woman. I can wash dishes, talk on the phone, set the dishwasher and schedule an appointment all in the same fifteen minutes. But is that necessary? Why can’t someone else load the dishwasher while I make a  phone call? Or why can’t I load the dishwasher and make the call later?

2. Go it at a slower pace…It? Life! Take it one-day-at-a-time. If we take life a little slower, we might have a better chance of not missing the moment-to-moment experiences. For example; when I rush around like a maniac, I may miss the beautiful cardinal on my fence. If I am rushing to work, I may miss the beautiful sunrise.

3. Leaving out embellishments in your conversation…with this I mean, people don’t want to hear your woe’s all day long. How about not adding an additional layer of suffering to your moment. Why can’t you simply say, “I’m feeling better.” Unfortunately I usually have to add, “I’m feeling better but….” Stay in the positive moment.

4. Wearing a rubber band…Try putting a rubber band around your wrist and every time you are aware it is there, take a couple of deep breaths and be thankful. You may be suffering such unbearable hardships, but there is always room in your day to be thankful.

5. Recite…Recite a scripture, a devotion or a warm-fuzzy saying: God is my strength; God will not give me more than I can handle; God is my refuge and strength. I am the one who eats his breakfast, gazing at the morning-glories. BASHO

We must let go of the life we had or have planned to accept the one that is waiting for us; the one ordained. The life that is perfect and yet we don’t see it. We are not deficient or unworthy of this destined life; we just have to slow down enough to let it come to us.

Beth

DogMeditation

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

